Light Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
Loved this recipe! I have to be honest that I took a lot of liberty with it because I didn't have many of the ingredients and I was making it for coworkers that don't like onions. But I think that's the most appealing part of this casserole--the fact that you CAN change it to fit your preferences and it still tastes great :) Here is what I did: 1. Used both yellow and green squash and omitted the onions 2. Added spinach 3. Used the following spices (replacing the cheese): turmeric, garam masala, coriander, indian chili powder, salt and pepper. 4. Added cilantro and curry leaves 5. Made my own biscuit mix because I didn't have any prepackage stuff 6. Squeezed all the liquid out of my vegetables Really, really good and my coworkers loved it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2015
2/3 diners loved it. I thought it was bland. Zucchini disappeared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
We fixed this for Mother's Day and it was a huge hit, not a bite left in the pan when dinner was finished. Mom even had seconds and she never has second's :-) Don't change a thing in the recipe, it does not need any adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I feel like it was missing something. It was very gooey. I tried to bake it longer, but it was still a weird texture. I followed the recipe exactly as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Very gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It was... ok. The only variation I used in the recipe was using sour cream due to my lack of buttermilk in the house. The rest was according to the page. I dunno, it just lacked.... something. I'm not sure what it was. I served this with a turkey I had done in the slow cooker, so we had gravy to pour over it, and that seemed to add the savory factor it was just lacking. I can see this recipe excelling maybe with some sausage or something like that. Also some garlic wouldn't hurt either. I am not a fan of the raw onion. I think the next time I will finely chop and sautee the onions first to mellow them out and sweeten them. I will repost when I try some variations. Oh and I DIDN'T have any gooey issues, I had shredded zucchini after an over abundance and I was tired of making zucchini bread. So, I had it in a plastic bag, which I opened slightly and basically rolled and squeezed all the excess liquid out of it. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate GR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight and with a few of the modifications suggested by others and my husband and I just loved it! I did a large chop on the zucchini and a medium chop on the onion, used half parmesan and half cheddar cheeses, added some seasonings to boost the flavor. I think I may add some fresh spinach the next time I make this dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Definately making again! I didn't have Parmesan so I used Mozarella cheese. Didn't use onion, unfortunately I'm allergic to onion. I wasn't sure if the biscuit baking mix was suppose to be prepared or just the dry ingredient.So I put it in dry and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This turned out great! Better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Very easy and a little healthier than several do the zucchini casseroles on this site. I used sour cream instead of buttermilk and one egg, and minced my onions instead of grating (personal preference). Also added crushed red pepper after reading the reviews about it being bland....be careful though, I almost made it too spicy for my kids to eat. Cooked it exactly one hour in a glass pie pan and it came out great, not mushy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States