Light Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2001
I am very pleased with the turn out of this Light Zucchini Casserole.I didn't have the buttermilk on hand,so I used sour cream.Very,very good.Thank you Lynn.I will try it next time with the buttermilk. Joann
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2001
I was very disappointed in this one. Perhaps I did something wrong, but I tried it twice and it was gooey both times, even though the sides and top (and even the bottom) got REAL brown. It tasted underdone, but couldn't have been since it baked the full hour and would have burned if longer. Could it need an egg in the batter?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2002
WOW!! This recipes is a gooey mess, but a delicious one! I added some Mrs. Dash & a little grated cheese. Next time, I'll try adding a few more veggies & make it in a bigger dish. Excellent taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Good way to use up that garden zucchini! The key to this recipe is to sqeeze the excess moisture from the zucchini and onion, before you mix with the rest of the ingredients. I used sour cream as a substitute for the buttermilk, and used Colby Jack cheese, because it is what I had on hand. I made mine gluten -free by using the new Gluten-free Bisquick Mix.I finished mine off with slivered almonds before baking. I like a little crunch. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amythuey

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
Talk about Grandma's comfort food YUMMMY! The house smelled great and the taste rewarded us!! Ok I vary things according to what I have on hand so... I DICED the mix of yellow squash and zucchini and had to use the sour cream variation suggested by someone else. I had NO RUNNY-NESS but maybe because I diced the squash or cooked a few minutes longer. I also added ground cooked chicken to the mixture. I found I needed salt but would not add it until eating and I think next time, the addition of a 1/2 cup of SHARP cheddar would make this dish PURE HEAVEN!! Can ya tell I liked it???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2007
My daughter made a similar recipe to this for Thanksgiving. It was fabulous and she shared the secret with me. To keep it from getting mushy, squeeze all the fluid from the zucchini before baking. It will be perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Uniondale, New York, USA
Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2008
I would add very small cut mushrooms and 1/3 cup of chicken broth for consistency and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
This was great! I ran out of parmesan so I added in some chopped fresh mozzarella in tiny cubes. I also added 1 egg and a pinch of nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOVESUBLIME

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Very easy and a little healthier than several do the zucchini casseroles on this site. I used sour cream instead of buttermilk and one egg, and minced my onions instead of grating (personal preference). Also added crushed red pepper after reading the reviews about it being bland....be careful though, I almost made it too spicy for my kids to eat. Cooked it exactly one hour in a glass pie pan and it came out great, not mushy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2006
This was yummy and came together very easily. Used heavy whipping cream instead of buttermilk and added some fresh garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States