Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Love this recipe! These are so great! I made them again today to bring to Christmas dinner tomorrow. These even turned out better this time then the first time I made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monika McDonough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delicious! When I make these, I only make half a recipe, so I use the remaining half egg and add a bit of sugar and some milk to brush on the tops instead of butter. These rolls are delightful and not at all finicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These rolls were really wonderful. Thank you for the recipe. My only change for the next time I make them will be to add a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Really easy and very tasty rolls. Beautiful when they come out of the oven. Definately make again instead of buying store bought rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyjobest

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
oh my these are so nice, much better than the canned ones ;). Thank you for the recipe, my husband loved them so did the rest of my family all of whom are a tough crowd to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very good, but a little drier than other recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is an excellent and relatively healthy recipe. I used all whole wheat flour (I ran out of all-purpose). I made two batches - the first with the brushed butter on top, and the second without. I actually like them better without the brushed butter! They keep for several days and are great re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Korver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent rolls, we added more wheat flour and they were still light and fluffy. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used white whole wheat instead of regular whole wheat as I was cooking for a picky crowd and knew the white color would be more appealing to them. These rolls really came out great--very light but not that kind of insubstantial airiness you get from supermarket rolls. I did use 1.5 tsp salt and next time might even up it a little more as I found these just slightly bland. I formed them into cloverleaf rolls instead of the spirals. I baked them until they were cooked but on the lighter side, and froze them. Then I took them out late in the morning I wanted to serve them and popped them in the oven on a baking sheet right before dinner to heat for 5-10 minutes. They were delicious! I'm definitely going to try these again with regular whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These were the best rolls I've ever made. Everyone in my large family were amazed at how great they were. I added 1 tbsp of vital wheat gluten with the wheat flour and 1 tsp sugar with the yeast, as suggested by another reviewer. I used by bread hook to knead the dough - 7 minutes on #4 speed. I did have to add about an extra cup of flour for the dough to stiffen. I made the the day before Thanksgiving, and they were still fresh and delicious three days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States