Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was the first bun recipe I ever tried, and it turned out perfectly! I won't keep looking, as this tastes great, and I feel with the whole wheat flour, it must be 'healthier' than some. I use yeast from a jar, and according to earlier reviewers and web searches .25 oz = 1/2 tblsp, so as is, the recipe needs 1 tbspl of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I have been making these rolls for over a year now and they have NEVER failed. I always get great comments on them. They have a great texture and are just YUMMY. I follow the recipe almost exactly, only omitting the second 1/4 cup of butter (would taste great, but I don't miss it one bit and it cuts the fat in half). I also just divide the dough into balls and bake. Takes much less time and my family doesn't mind the less gourmet presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Very yummy! Best straight out of the oven. Made the dough with my Kitchenaid....used a little extra flour....made 17 large buns....Mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made the dough in the bread machine and did not use the "spiral" method but rather divided the dough into 24 balls. They turned out too be one of the biggest hits at my Easter table! Very good! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by shmartigogle
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I love these! I make them extra large and they are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shmartigogle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
These do take a bit of rising time to make, but they're SO delicious and well worth the wait! I will be making them again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
These rolls turned out great. Didn't change a thing. Had no problem making spirals. Will use this recipe again and again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
Excellent. The rolls are light with a wonderful crust and everyone in the family loved them. I think this may be the recipe that convinces me to ditch the bread maker and just make bread by hand. By far the best bread I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made this recipe into cinnamon rolls and I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to knead the dough. I followed the recipe exactly, EXCEPT that it needed more flour to pull away from the sides of the bowl. (I added 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose). After the first rise, I punched the dough down and split it in half. I rolled one half into a uniform loaf shape and baked it in a large loaf pan at 350 degrees until golden on top. -- I pressed out the other half into a large rectangle, brushed it with butter and sprinkled with lots of cinnamon and sugar. I rolled it up, cut into 12 rolls/slices, placed them in muffin tins, covered and refrigerated overnight. Then I baked them the next morning at 400 degrees. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
These were very easy to prepare and tasted very nice. No changes and everything worked out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeeAnn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sydney Mines, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States