Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Love this recipe! These are so great! I made them again today to bring to Christmas dinner tomorrow. These even turned out better this time then the first time I made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monika McDonough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delicious! When I make these, I only make half a recipe, so I use the remaining half egg and add a bit of sugar and some milk to brush on the tops instead of butter. These rolls are delightful and not at all finicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These rolls were really wonderful. Thank you for the recipe. My only change for the next time I make them will be to add a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Really easy and very tasty rolls. Beautiful when they come out of the oven. Definately make again instead of buying store bought rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyjobest

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
oh my these are so nice, much better than the canned ones ;). Thank you for the recipe, my husband loved them so did the rest of my family all of whom are a tough crowd to please.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
Very good, but a little drier than other recipes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
This is an excellent and relatively healthy recipe. I used all whole wheat flour (I ran out of all-purpose). I made two batches - the first with the brushed butter on top, and the second without. I actually like them better without the brushed butter! They keep for several days and are great re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Korver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelton, Washington, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Excellent rolls, we added more wheat flour and they were still light and fluffy. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
I used white whole wheat instead of regular whole wheat as I was cooking for a picky crowd and knew the white color would be more appealing to them. These rolls really came out great--very light but not that kind of insubstantial airiness you get from supermarket rolls. I did use 1.5 tsp salt and next time might even up it a little more as I found these just slightly bland. I formed them into cloverleaf rolls instead of the spirals. I baked them until they were cooked but on the lighter side, and froze them. Then I took them out late in the morning I wanted to serve them and popped them in the oven on a baking sheet right before dinner to heat for 5-10 minutes. They were delicious! I'm definitely going to try these again with regular whole wheat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These were the best rolls I've ever made. Everyone in my large family were amazed at how great they were. I added 1 tbsp of vital wheat gluten with the wheat flour and 1 tsp sugar with the yeast, as suggested by another reviewer. I used by bread hook to knead the dough - 7 minutes on #4 speed. I did have to add about an extra cup of flour for the dough to stiffen. I made the the day before Thanksgiving, and they were still fresh and delicious three days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States