Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This makes really yummy wheat bread. It's just the right amount of sweetness to counter the bitter wheat flour. Easy to make too. I made 12 rolls and two french bread style loaves. I did make some alterations that worked really well. I reduced the wheat flour to 2 cups and used 2 3/4 cups of bread flour instead of all purpose. I used 1/4 cup white sugar and 1/4 cup honey. I used 2 Tbsp of melted butter and 2 Tbsp of Olive Oil. I also used half water and half milk for the 1 3/4 cup of water. We will definitely have this bread again - it's a house favorite now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
These rolls are great. I used Splenda not sugar and light margarine not butter and they were amazing. I also used all white flour for a batch for my husband and he loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by xoxo_lina
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I halved the recipe but totally forgot to use 1/2 the egg. Still turned out great. I also proofed the yeast by dissolving 1 tsp of sugar in water. I rolled them into little balls and baked them on a cookie sheet. I should have checked on them at 9 minutes because at 11 minutes, they were definitely done, with the bottoms a little darker than what I had wanted. Very light and fluffy little buns - Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very nice recipe! Finally, I've found a recipe for the type of dinner roll that Bob Evans serves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEAB77

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Crooksville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very light and fluffy texture to the roll. Easy to make too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2010
Absolutely awesome.. I used my kitchenaid stand mixer for these and I can tell you I will be making these many, many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peterborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I use all wheat flour honey olive oil 2/3 cup cracked wheat 1/3 cup ground flax 1/3 med corn meal 2/3 cup fiber powder 1/2 cup apple sause egg wash and seseme seeds. Pop one of these down with peanut butter and lift some weights fuel for the body amazing little rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Gallo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe rocks! I have gone through a lot of recipes for rolls, and now this is hands-down the only one I make. I get orders for them at Christmas and Thanksgiving. I never make the fancy spirals, just put them as balls of dough on a cookie sheet. They come out looking like they came from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KenzieKook
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was a great roll for dinner, my whole family loved it. I used egg whites instead of an egg, really light and fluffy. I couldn't roll the dough so I just put it into balls, they turned out fine. I will be remembering this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KenzieKook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These rolls are wonderfully light and fluffy. I used vegetable oil instead of melted butter in the dough, and they still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States