Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
I use all wheat flour honey olive oil 2/3 cup cracked wheat 1/3 cup ground flax 1/3 med corn meal 2/3 cup fiber powder 1/2 cup apple sause egg wash and seseme seeds. Pop one of these down with peanut butter and lift some weights fuel for the body amazing little rolls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Gallo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
This recipe rocks! I have gone through a lot of recipes for rolls, and now this is hands-down the only one I make. I get orders for them at Christmas and Thanksgiving. I never make the fancy spirals, just put them as balls of dough on a cookie sheet. They come out looking like they came from a bakery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KenzieKook
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was a great roll for dinner, my whole family loved it. I used egg whites instead of an egg, really light and fluffy. I couldn't roll the dough so I just put it into balls, they turned out fine. I will be remembering this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KenzieKook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
These rolls are wonderfully light and fluffy. I used vegetable oil instead of melted butter in the dough, and they still turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
These were excellent -- light and soft, with great flavor! I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
My new favorite bread recipe! The first time I baked 1/2 of them as directed in the recipe, the other half I rolled into yummy cinnamon rolls. They were good but it wasn't exactly what I'd hoped for. Used the same recipe and rolled the dough into balls and baked as buns and WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great recipe! This does indeed produce tender, fluffy rolls...you can hardly even tell that they contain whole wheat! They are also really pretty, with the pop-up swirl. The one problem I had with this recipe, though, is that there seemed to be to much dough. Some of the rolls got way to big...instead of the swirl popping out cinnamon-roll style, they got huge and spread out of the muffin pan, sticking to the roll next to it. When I make these again, I'll use some of the dough to make other rolls before I roll and cut, as stated in the recipe. Thanks for sharing...this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
WE LOVE THIS DOUGH I have: Added extra sugar to the dough and used it for cinnamon rolls, ++++++ Shaped it into every shape imaginable (including braided breads for special dinners)+++++++ Rolled it into long ropes, dipped it in a baking soda solution then baked it making pretzels. ++++++ Rolled it flat baked it on a griddle and used it as pan bread/ Flat bread (thicker than tortillas similar to pitas).++++++ Formed it into Pan Pizza Crust ++++++ I very regularly form it into 4 (9" X 15") very thin pizza crusts. I prebake them (450 deg for 8 minutes) then freeze 3 and add toppings to the 4th for dinner that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This is my new holiday bread stand-in. I followed the recipe exactly as written and was not disappointed. I baked it for Thanksgiving and Christmas last year, and will make it for Easter this spring. Always moist and tasty, it's the perfect accompaniment to a homey holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very light and tasty. I cut sugar in half and it was still sweet enough. I like it more salty, as a sandwich bun. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States