Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
This recipe.produces nice light buns, with almost half whole wheat. Not perfectly healthy but certainly better than a white bun, and much better than store bought. I've made them at least four times and our family loves them. i've gotten better at making the roll part - I am tempted each time to just make a ball but like the light texture so I keep rolling them up as per the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Umm, wow, these surprised me! They are soft, flaky, sweet, and rich tasting. I have not had a wheat roll like this. I decided to try the dough cycle on my Zojirushi bread machine to make this a quick and easy recipe. When the dough cycle was over I proceeded to step 4. I did only do a half a recipe, and I am glad I did because the dough had risen to the top of my bread machine container. When it was done I plopped the dough out onto a parchment lined baking sheet. I realized it was way too wet. I ended up adding a scoop of all-purpose flour. I didn't measure it, but it may have been a 1/2 a cup of so. I used the flour to maneuver the dough and make it not stick. I used a pastry wheel to cut the dough as suggested in 6 pieces and then in half. It is difficult to get them all precisely the same size. So, some of my rolls weren't so large as others and the rolled appearance looked quite frankly slightly different on each. I followed all of the ingredients only using Gold Medal white whole wheat, a lighter colored wheat grain, for the whole wheat flour. I sprayed my Cuisinart non-stick muffin pan with Bakers Joy and let them rise in it for 30 minutes. I baked then, because they were nearly doubled in size. They took about 15 minutes. Note, the last butter ingredient should be divided. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
I posted this recipe and I still make them yet today. Just made them for Thanksgiving this year because my sister in law always requests them. Everybody seems to love them. I've never had any problems with the dough as some have suggested. They are actually easy and very user friendly. If you don't want to eat them the same day you make them, only bake them for 8 minutes, let cool and freeze or refrigerate. Once you are ready to bake, bake 5-7 minutes depending on desired doneness.Frozen ones must be thawed first. Happy to know so many are enjoying them. Katrina Susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatSu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I hate when people make changes before rating a recipe! That being said, I cut the amount of sugar in half (diabetic husband) & let the bread machine do most of the work. I followed the rest of the directions to the letter. These rolls were fantastic!! Light & airy, two words not usually associated with whole wheat backed goods! I plan to make these often & will do a little experimenting to try to cut down on the amount of all purpose flour while still keeping the fantastic crumb. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CMUCKEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spencer, Iowa, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
These rolls were so light, fluffy, and delicious that I will now use this recipe instead of my old one! I used half milk and half water, honey instead of sugar, and mixed grains instead of whole wheat flour. I also didn't have a muffin tin so I shaped the rolls and put them on a baking sheet. The dough had a perfect texture and elasticity for shaping into braids, knots, and spirals. They rise really high and fluffy. I'm making them again for a pot-luck tomorrow so I'll be sure to get a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I make these every year for Thanksgiving and they're always a hit. I use a little less sugar and all whole wheat flour and they turn out great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Just the recipe I've been looking for. These turned out great. I made them two days in a row. Reduced the baking time to 8 minutes on the second batch. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
Tried this recipe twice, they don't rose well and are waay too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Absolutely delicious! My family loves these rolls! I used milk instead of water and rapid yeast due to being short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
Amazing! ALL of my family loves them:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States