Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2005
This was such great recipe, they turned out awesome. I just divided the dough up into 16 balls and baked them on a cookie sheet, instead of putting them in muffin tins. Then before I baked them, I brushed them with a beaten egg instead of butter. Then I scored the top of them. They had a nice, glossy crust, and were just the right size for sandwiches! I also used all white flour instead of the wheat flour. If you use all white flour, you just have to add a little bit more flour and knead a little bit longer for the gluten to develop. And then I divided the dough up into buns and baked them in a 9x13 for white dinner rolls. They came out so good! Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I cut this recipe down to 12 servings. I made two small changes; I used milk instead of water and I doubled the yeast, using two envelopes fora halved recipe. (The reason I did this was because I've always had issues making whole wheat bread/rolls so I wanted to be sure this one would work.) I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the sugar and warm milk in my mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the beaten egg, melted butter, then all the dry ingredients. This dough needed 3/4 cup more flour to form a ball. I kneaded it with my dough hook for five minutes, then set it to rise on a warm heating pad in a greased and covered bowl for an hour. Once it doubled, I formed the rolls using a dry 1/4 inch measuring cup and set the formed rolls in a greased muffin tin. I set them to rise again on the warm heating pad, covered with saran wrap, for a half hour. 400* for 12 minutes and they were perfect. I brushed the tops with vegetable right out of the oven, as it gives them soft, bakery style tops. These rolls are absolutely delicious. I was worried that the sugar might be too much but it's really not. They're perfectly chewy but they also came out light and fluffy. Like something you'd get at a fancy bakery. VERY good. I'll use this recipe again. I think this would be really good with honey or light brown sugar in place of the granulated sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I am giving this recipe 5 stars b/c I love the Black-Eyed Pea Restaurant's wheat rolls and on my first try to replicate them tried this recipe. End of search! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
I did the initial mixing and first rising in my bread machine. I was tempted to skip the second rising, but didn't. These rolls are worth the extra effort!! They are possibly the best wheat rolls I have ever eaten. The dough seemed a little difficult to work with (very elastic!!), but they turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
LOVED this roll!! Made them for a Thanksgiving get together and they loved them!! I make this recipe everytime I need to make rolls or want to make rolls! Thanks for submitting this recipe! I also cooked them on a cookie sheet and they turned out great! Would be a fun dough to have your kids play with and make their own rolls!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2002
I ADDED 1/4 CUP MASHED POTATOES, FOR EXTRA MOISTNESS, AND THEY WERE WONDERFUL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I made this recipe into cinnamon rolls and I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to knead the dough. I followed the recipe exactly, EXCEPT that it needed more flour to pull away from the sides of the bowl. (I added 1/2 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose). After the first rise, I punched the dough down and split it in half. I rolled one half into a uniform loaf shape and baked it in a large loaf pan at 350 degrees until golden on top. -- I pressed out the other half into a large rectangle, brushed it with butter and sprinkled with lots of cinnamon and sugar. I rolled it up, cut into 12 rolls/slices, placed them in muffin tins, covered and refrigerated overnight. Then I baked them the next morning at 400 degrees. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
Susan I love you. Please come live with me. These rolls were so yummy, I can't imagine what else you may have up your sleeve but I want first taste of it. I am planning a dinner party for tonight so I made these rolls this morning just to make sure they would be good enough for my guests. Well,let me tell you I am definitely going to serve them with my Prime Rib. My search for the perfect wheat dinner roll has ended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
WE LOVE THIS DOUGH I have: Added extra sugar to the dough and used it for cinnamon rolls, ++++++ Shaped it into every shape imaginable (including braided breads for special dinners)+++++++ Rolled it into long ropes, dipped it in a baking soda solution then baked it making pretzels. ++++++ Rolled it flat baked it on a griddle and used it as pan bread/ Flat bread (thicker than tortillas similar to pitas).++++++ Formed it into Pan Pizza Crust ++++++ I very regularly form it into 4 (9" X 15") very thin pizza crusts. I prebake them (450 deg for 8 minutes) then freeze 3 and add toppings to the 4th for dinner that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Thank you for sharing this recipe with the rest of us. It is absolutely delicious! Upon the suggestion of a few other reviews I added extra sugar (2/3C instead of 1/2C). I also had to add an extra cup of (wheat) flour because my dough was sticky at first too. Everyone should eat these at least once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States