Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I LOVE THIS RECIPE. I have tried 5 recipes before this one. THIS ONE IS A KEEPER. The rolls turned out light and airy. I even made a PIZZA CRUST out of this recipe, so my daughter and I can have pizza with the rest of the family this weekend. My daughter and I are eating healthier to try to loose some weight. I even made HAMBURGER BUNS out of this recipe. THIS RECIPE IS AWESOME AND A DEFINITE KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
I made recipe essentially as written. I used about 1/8 cup less sugar based on reviews that it was too sweet and whole wheat pastry flour instead of just plain whole wheat flour. Turned out great. Rolls were light and fluffy and looked really nice. I made 1/2 batch as is and the other 1/2 batch I added some garlic and rosemary too. Both were popular with the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Very good but much better using warm milk! I also used 1 TBSP. gluten flour (don't use if u have Celiac) for every cup of whole wheat flour called for in recipe. Thanx 4 this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Very easy recipe and the taste was great. I made them exactly as recipe suggests, except that I cloverleafed mine. Dough was a little sticky as I'd previously read, but other than flouring my hands to punch it down twice, did not add additional flour. Results were terrific. I'll definitely make these again and plan to add fresh herbs (dill or rosemary) with some garlic to add flavor and interest. But they are great as they are.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: May 8, 2012
Fabulous rolls - good flavor and texture. The only change I made was to use bread flour instead of the all-purpose flour. Not only are they delicious, but very attractive too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Excellent-- great flavor and texture! Because of cholesterol concerns, I substituted canola oil for the butter in the dough and did not brush tops with melted butter. Still soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
My whole Family Loved these!!!! They were really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
Very easy recipe. Light and fluffy. Didn't follow the ricipe exactly. Added 1/2 cup of brown sugar in addition to the 1/2 cup of white sugar. And added 1 tsp. more of salt. Other wise followed recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Princeton, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
These were really pretty simple to make. It took a little longer than I thought it was going to take to rise, but that could have been my kitchen. Great idea to roll them out..kids liked the shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Fantastic recipe, turns out wonderful every time. One thing that did take me off guard was how sweet these rolls are - they're *sweet*! Really nice as rolls served with a dinner of meat and potatoes, but definitely not a sandwich roll, if that makes sense. (Note: as a salt hound, I'm biased - it could very well be these are perfect for 99.9% of the population's sandwiches and I'm the weirdo.) I've made the recipe cutting the sugar in half too and it's turned out terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States