Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This look very pretty but I found them lacking in flavor. If I were to try the recipe again, I would use milk instead of water, honey instead of sugar, or maybe add puréed squash or mashed potatoes for extra flavor and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Oh my, what can I say to describe the joy I felt when I ate those rolls! DEVINE!!! I only made half the recipe (it's just my husband & I), I used 1.5 packages of yeast and the whole egg. I had to add a little more flour than the recipe called for as my dough was sticky. Other than that I sticked exactly to the recipe and the rolls looked so pretty and tasted even better! Thanks for a great recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great recipe! I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit! I formed the rolls into balls and baked on a cookie sheet. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
These are good, but mine didn't rise as well as I'd hoped. They still had great flavor and were only a bit heavier than I wanted. I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup, added an extra quarter cup of whole wheat flour and brushed with an eggwash instead of more butter. I also added an extra half teaspoon of salt as per a reviewer recommendation (but I used unsalted butter as well, so I don't think it was enough to affect the yeast). I was wary to use a third packet of yeast because I'm at a high altitude, but I think I'll try that next time (and be sure to use warmer water with more of the sugar in it for proofing the yeast, not to overwork the dough, and to let the dough rise in a warmer room). I'll update at a later date if my results are better the next time around. I don't think my less-than-perfect results were due to the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theauthenticnut
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I substituted margarine for butter and cut the dough into eight 5oz pieces and shaped them into oval shaped buns. I baked them at 350F for 18-20 minutes. They turned out to be the perfect size for sandwiches. I really liked the crumb of this bun, it was light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I opted to make only half of this recipe, I cheated and put the ingredients into the bread machine to make the dough for me and it will only make so much dough at once :) These rolls rise up very nicely and are beautiful! They aren't big on flavor but I found when we ate these with our meal that they were perfect. These are great rolls to make if you have company coming over because they honestly look store bought (like a professional baker made them) rather than squirly and weird like some of my rolls have looked in the past, rolling them up like a pinwheel is brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Wonderful recipe, definitely a keeper. Enjoyed by the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Excellent recipe for prior non bread makers. My confidence has risen with the yeast. Changed only the white sugar as i never own such an item. Natural unrefined sugar in the same proportion worked as well. Thanks for sharing such an uncomplicated and delicious recipe. We live in Thailand and kitchen is hot and humid but it worked out just the same. Served with Black Bean Soup. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I LOVE this recipe!!! I have made it a billion times and will make it a billion more times! Thank You so much for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RECIPES2LOVE
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I use my bread machine for mixing most of my dough. These rolls came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States