Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very nice--didn't change a thing ingredient wise. I halved the recipe and made the dough in the bread machine. Although I was intrigued by the swirls, I didnt make them bc I wanted sandwich rolls. I made 8 rolls out of the halved recipe, which gave me some good sized rolls for meatball sandwiches. I baked for about 25 minutes and they were perfect. Bf didn't seem to notice they had ww flour, which is always a plus. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
The best bread recipe I have used. Great tast, perfect for freezing and you can use any roll shape you want and it still comes out perfect. Thank you for letting us enjoy your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I have to say first that this is the first recipe that I have given all 5 stars to!! These rolls are FANTASTIC! I have made lots of bread and rolls before, but these were by far THE best! The only change I made was that I substituted half of the All Purpose Flour for White Wheat flour (in addition to the Whole Wheat) This was definitely the lightest wheat roll I have had. I ended up with extra dough some how, so on top of making 2 dz rolls, I made a whole loaf too, so I would have one ready, just in case. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katrina Smith
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great recipe to start out with, when you are experimenting with whole wheat flour! Mine turned out to be very nice looking and tasted great. I will definately make these again...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
These were awesome! I made a couple of changes to cut a little of the fat out of the buns. After the second rise I did not roll the dough out and brush with butter. Instead I made the dough into 24 balls and placed in greased muffin tins. After the third rise I brushed the tops of the buns with an egg wash made of an egg beaten with a couple of tbsp. of water instead of using butter. The buns were terrific. I will definitely make them again with my modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
Heavenly! I take each rectangle of dough, brush it with butter, and roll it up jelly-roll style. Then I slice it into 1 inch medalions. It seems a little faster to me than rolling each strip individually, and I love the way they pull apart when you eat them with butter in between each layer. Awesome recipe: thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: West Valley City, Utah, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These rolls are easy, and turn out well every time. The variations I have made: Use 2 cups white flour, 2 cups WW flour, and then make up the difference with ground flax seed. Also, instead of cutting and rolling them, I have flattened each portion and filled them with seasoned ground beef, curried chick peas, etc. If trying this, remember to place them pinched end up in the oven- if you put them in pinched side down, the tops will split.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redcliff, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
These rolls were good, but I don't think they were the hit that everyone else claims them to be. I'd give them a 3 1/2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
These are the rolls I bring out when I really want to impress people. So light, so delectable. You've changed my universe Katrina. Bless your heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by epeacock

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eagle, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States