Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I was very impressed! I halved the recipe and made this with all whole wheat flour (about a 1/4 cup less than called for) and 2 packages of yeast. Also added a little more sugar, as other reviewers suggested. I was amazed at how wonderfully the dough rose and how easy it was to knead. I tied the dough into knots and they turned out great. The rolls were really light and fluffy - a great texture. They warm up great too. I think that because I used all whole wheat flour, it was a little bland. I'll have to experiment with ways to make the "all whole wheat" version tastier. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
awesome. Easy to make, even with all the rise time. Light, fluffy, sweet and very tasty. My three year old could help with these, they were so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very good - the only changes I made were using bread flour in place of all-purpose and used 2 cups whole wheat flour+1/4 ground flax seeds. I doubt this affected the outcome or the flavor much, if at all. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and after the 2nd rise, punched the dough then divided in 1/2. I then rolled out and spread with melted butter, rolled up jelly roll style, and finally cut into 12 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
great recipe! made half into cinnamon rolls and boy, are they soft and chewy! the other half i made into buns...my daughter just tasted it and all she said was..yummmmy! will use this from now on..thanks katrina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
YUM...very pleased! Really light and airy...very good and a full proof receipe...even survived my novice boo boos!! (My yeast didn't proof the first go around, so I added more "live" yeasties mid-way thru he process. What the heck, there was no stopping the train once we were on it) Used specialty flours I bought from Whole Foods bulk section...a mix of Gluten Wheat Flour and Organic White... That way I only had to buy what I needed in case this inspiration is short lived. (Ok..I so went for the Organic thing too this go around) Also added about 1/4 cup of ground Flax seed..cause I had it on hand..a good way to use some of it up. Increased the Kosher salt I used by another 1/2 of a teaspoon. Not having made homemade bread for years...I of course was skeptical these would even be eidible especially after all the mishaps, hand kneading, and multiple proofings. BUT... to my very pleasant surprise...the sturdy little doughball was very resilent, and it turned out wonderful rolls. Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Great rolls! I followed the directions exactly but needed more flour to achieve the right dough consistency. My husband and kids really liked these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
Very nice--didn't change a thing ingredient wise. I halved the recipe and made the dough in the bread machine. Although I was intrigued by the swirls, I didnt make them bc I wanted sandwich rolls. I made 8 rolls out of the halved recipe, which gave me some good sized rolls for meatball sandwiches. I baked for about 25 minutes and they were perfect. Bf didn't seem to notice they had ww flour, which is always a plus. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
The best bread recipe I have used. Great tast, perfect for freezing and you can use any roll shape you want and it still comes out perfect. Thank you for letting us enjoy your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
I have to say first that this is the first recipe that I have given all 5 stars to!! These rolls are FANTASTIC! I have made lots of bread and rolls before, but these were by far THE best! The only change I made was that I substituted half of the All Purpose Flour for White Wheat flour (in addition to the Whole Wheat) This was definitely the lightest wheat roll I have had. I ended up with extra dough some how, so on top of making 2 dz rolls, I made a whole loaf too, so I would have one ready, just in case. Will make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Katrina Smith
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Great recipe to start out with, when you are experimenting with whole wheat flour! Mine turned out to be very nice looking and tasted great. I will definately make these again...thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States