Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I use this one more than any other roll recipe. I back out some ww flour, maybe 1/4 cup, and add wheat bran. I never spiral, usually divide then cut each into 4 pieces before putting into muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Great as is! Even my fan of white bread husband really liked them. I even snuck in a little more whole wheat and did 2 3/4 C whole wheat and 2 C bread flour. I seperated the dough in halves at the the end and then rolled each half up and sliced as I would when making cinnamon rolls with a piece of thread. Less time and effort with the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
This it the first time I've ever made wheat bread and, although I have nothing to compare it to, I thought these were great! They were definitely light with a soft crust, the perfect dinner roll. I would even consider making these into wheat cinnamon rolls because they're that soft and yummy. This one it definitely going into the recipe binder!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misscarolb

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Half Moon Bay, California, USA
Living In: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
My family loves these rolls and, though they take a little longer, they are worth it. Like most other people, I always end up having to add flour to get a stiff enough dough. I just add extra to the board and knead it in as I go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I was very impressed! I halved the recipe and made this with all whole wheat flour (about a 1/4 cup less than called for) and 2 packages of yeast. Also added a little more sugar, as other reviewers suggested. I was amazed at how wonderfully the dough rose and how easy it was to knead. I tied the dough into knots and they turned out great. The rolls were really light and fluffy - a great texture. They warm up great too. I think that because I used all whole wheat flour, it was a little bland. I'll have to experiment with ways to make the "all whole wheat" version tastier. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
awesome. Easy to make, even with all the rise time. Light, fluffy, sweet and very tasty. My three year old could help with these, they were so simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
Very good - the only changes I made were using bread flour in place of all-purpose and used 2 cups whole wheat flour+1/4 ground flax seeds. I doubt this affected the outcome or the flavor much, if at all. I followed another reviewer's suggestion and after the 2nd rise, punched the dough then divided in 1/2. I then rolled out and spread with melted butter, rolled up jelly roll style, and finally cut into 12 pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rayandshy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
great recipe! made half into cinnamon rolls and boy, are they soft and chewy! the other half i made into buns...my daughter just tasted it and all she said was..yummmmy! will use this from now on..thanks katrina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
YUM...very pleased! Really light and airy...very good and a full proof receipe...even survived my novice boo boos!! (My yeast didn't proof the first go around, so I added more "live" yeasties mid-way thru he process. What the heck, there was no stopping the train once we were on it) Used specialty flours I bought from Whole Foods bulk section...a mix of Gluten Wheat Flour and Organic White... That way I only had to buy what I needed in case this inspiration is short lived. (Ok..I so went for the Organic thing too this go around) Also added about 1/4 cup of ground Flax seed..cause I had it on hand..a good way to use some of it up. Increased the Kosher salt I used by another 1/2 of a teaspoon. Not having made homemade bread for years...I of course was skeptical these would even be eidible especially after all the mishaps, hand kneading, and multiple proofings. BUT... to my very pleasant surprise...the sturdy little doughball was very resilent, and it turned out wonderful rolls. Give it a try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
Great rolls! I followed the directions exactly but needed more flour to achieve the right dough consistency. My husband and kids really liked these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States