Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
Great Rolls. Delicious and fairly light tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WatneFam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
These rolls were so good! I made them as stated, except I baked them on a cookie sheet instead of muffin cups. I made them for Christmas Eve dinner and everyone loved them. We used the leftover rolls to make ham sandwiches (hot and cold), and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet_firefly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
I have never had a roll recipe turn out better. They were light rolls despite the amount of wheat flour in them. I followed the recipe to the "T". Probably could be made into bread loaves, I'm trying that next! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPICYCAT

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
Easy, good recipe, but don't over flour and don't overbake. I would definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I give this recipe 4 stars. The buns turned out well and were SUPER pretty easy to make, but the process was time consuming and I had to improvise a little bit. I found that the original recipes didn't call for enough flour. I added about an extra cup and a half of whole wheat flour. I'd definatley try this one for cinamon buns- the dough turned out kinda sweet and would be excellent with brown sugar and cinamon. This recipe is definatley a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Breanna Bourke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Ridiculously delicious! SO soft! I was actually shocked at how well they came out as I have not baked in some time. I did make some slight adjustments to accommodate health concerns: Replaced 3/4 c. water with lactose-free milk. Replaced 1/4 c. sugar with honey (and a pinch of baking soda). Replaced butter with canola oil in the dough mixture (still used some butter/margarine for brushing the tops though). The liquid substitutions made it necessary to add a little more white flour while kneading to achieve the right consistency. I tried different roll shapes - some bowknot, some cloverleaf - they were all beautiful and received rave reviews. Also, thanks Katrina for the freezing tip. I baked at home for 8 mins and then finished them at grandma's house just in time for Thanksgiving dinner. YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TropiCarla

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChrysintheKitchen
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2009
I thought that these rolls were lovely. They were nice and soft. I made a half batch as there are only two of us in the family and took the advice on how freezing them after only half cooking them. I did this and just defrosted them before putting them back in the oven for another 4-5 minutes. They tasted just as if they were newly baked. I do wish I put a little more salt in it, maybe 1 1/2 teaspoons next time. Otherwise, I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
These were great. I used the recipe as is, but made it into a loaf of bread and cinnamon rolls. Very good. My anti wheat family gobbled them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Wilhelmi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Princeton, Minnesota, USA
Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
I use this one more than any other roll recipe. I back out some ww flour, maybe 1/4 cup, and add wheat bran. I never spiral, usually divide then cut each into 4 pieces before putting into muffin cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Great as is! Even my fan of white bread husband really liked them. I even snuck in a little more whole wheat and did 2 3/4 C whole wheat and 2 C bread flour. I seperated the dough in halves at the the end and then rolled each half up and sliced as I would when making cinnamon rolls with a piece of thread. Less time and effort with the same results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States