Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great flavor and great texture. I didn't beat them down the second time I instead just let them rise for two hours while I was running errands. I came back, made them into rolls, and let them rise for 40 minutes and popped them in the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Pomona, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
The dough for these rolls was very easy to make. As suggested by another poster, I spread garlic butter on the strips before rolling them. I found this to be a little fussy, as the rolls weren't all the same size. I baked them (2 dozen) lined up on a baking sheet. I froze them and pull them out to pack in my kids lunches, and they love them! I definitely like the lightness of the rolls so I will make them again, but maybe not swirl them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
I made "sweet dinner rolls" from this site with 100% whole wheat and I also made these rolls with 100% whole wheat. These were definitely better and my husband requests these. Did the second rise in the bread maker after punching it down in the bread maker itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
FINALLY!!! A really good wheat roll. I have tried numerous recipes trying to get my family to eat more wheat. This one was a HIT! Finally one the kids will eat! It was easier than I expected to roll. Very pretty plus kids liked unrolling them to eat. I used my bread machine on 45 mins dough cycle, punched down and rose in a bowl the second time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Delicious and very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
I love this recipe, I have made it several times, and it always turns out great. I have also rolled out dough and brushed with melted butter and sprinkled with fresh garlic, rolled up and make garlic rolls. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mik

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Uxbridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These were pretty good, but they felt a little bland. I wonder if adding some honey would help. We did 15 minutes and it was a little long - I'd say shoot for 13-14.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
These rolls are fabulous! They are very light, and very tasty. I decrease the oven temperature to 350 for a loaf (it makes 2), and bake for 23-27 minutes. For hamburger buns, shape into a baker's dozen (I like them big!), flatten slightly, 20 minute rise, then bake at 380 for 10-12 minutes. One of my very favorite recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
I make these all the time-they are wonderful! I just shape them into regular rolls. They are so soft and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasminaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banja Luka, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Fantastic! I did have to add more flour than what the recipe called for, but it turned out great. I kept adding whole wheat flour until it was the right consistency. My family loved them and asked for more. My husband said they were even better when we reheated the leftovers the next day. Very time consuming, but worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie15fan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 354) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States