Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Photo by Candie
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
Yummy! These rolls are my 2nd attempt ever at making bread from scratch. (First one being a total failure) I wasn't confident to attempt the pinwheel portion, so I just made them into normal rolls and they are light, fluffy, slightly sweet and very melt-in-your-mouth worthy. I will be keeping this recipe to make again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vine Grove, Kentucky, USA
Photo by Trisha
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
excellent, made just as written, yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by metread
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
Perfect, easy and delicious. Worth the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by metread

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pineville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This is a keeper!! First of all, I decided to let my bread machine do the work, but wasn't sure if the machine was able to handle a full recipe. So I cut if in half and used the whole egg. During the first knead the dough was way to sticky so added additional tablespoons of whole wheat flour till the dough seemed right. Baked at 350* for about 15 minutes. Beautiful rolls, light, fluffy, with a slightly sweet taste. Thanks, Katrina - yummy is right on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This was my first attempt at yeast rolls. This recipe is so wonderful that I am hooked on baking now. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I have to agree with the submitter of this recipe. These rolls are not hard to make, but they do take quite a bit of time due to the multiple rise times. I love how they turn out, in their spiral shape, just a little browned with their nutty wheat flavor. They were the perfect roll to go with our navy bean soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
I loved this recipe. I have never had good luck with rolls but this time they turned out great. I used cane sugar and they were great! Also subbed the extra 1/2 cup of white flour with pastry ground wheat so it was more healthy. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Love this as pizza dough as a previous reviewer suggested. Makes 4 good-sized pizzas, and by partially baking and keeping them frozen, it's a great way to fulfill that pizza craving in a reasonably healthy way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
These were very yummy and picturesque. Perfectly golden and soft outside, soft, tender and fluffy inside. The flavor was good too, overall, more than I was expecting from half whole wheat rolls. (I reduced the sugar by half, and I think that makes it taste better unless you want a sweet roll)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CarolynReese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
Just what I was looking for....light and airy! I used all "white whole wheat flour" (King Arthur organic 100% whole wheat) and Hodson Mill yeast for whole grains. I used less butter on the tops- didn't measure. I made one beautiful, large loaf of bread, and nine cloverleaf rolls. The only change I will make in the future is to add an extra teaspoon of salt, the recipe needs more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sheffield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 353) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States