Light Southwestern Tomato Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I splashed in some red wine vinegar when I added the olive oil to up the flavor. The cilantro added an interesting and yummy kick. This was a little different than my usual weeknight pasta dishes, thank you for sharing Rachel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eileen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This pasta has a really light, fresh flavor. I added parmesan cheese to make it a bit tangier and put in more cilantro than the original recipe called for (trying to use it up). In the future I think I would add a lightly breaded chicken breast for a little filler and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This was good, but unfortunately, I didn't have fresh ingredients on hand. Therefore, the tomatoes were from a can, and the cilantro was dried. I would do this again but with fresh ingredients. Thanks Rachel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Rae
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a tasty and different side dish. When I went to get my tomatoes I found out that I only had one smallish tomato so I used that and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies that I had in my pantry. I think the green chilies were a nice addition since they brought a little bit of pop to the dish. And since I had to use canned tomatoes I left out the sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
This is a tasty, fresh recipe. Changes: Use half the amount of pasta called for. 1 lb. is way too much. 1/2 lb. for 4 servings is perfect. I used whole wheat spaghetti and my family loved it. Use "Nature's Sweet" tomatoes or some type of sugar plum tomatoes - you really need quality tomatoes since this is such a major ingredient. I used twice the amount of fresh cilantro. Use 1-2 teaspoons of fresh basil - much better than dried. I put about 1/4 the amount of sugar, based on another reviewer's recommendation and thought it was fine - probably didn't need any, actually. I echo the other reviewer's rec of using high quality extra virgin olive oil. Also, definitely add chicken. I used fresh Parmesan as well - delicious touch. I served with some warm crusty sourdough bread and steamed broccoli and it was a perfect meal! My husband, who usually prefers tomato ground beef sauce, loved this fresh recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
On the bland side and not particularly filling. Not too bad though. Makes for something really quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I really liked this, It would be better for summer than winter, but we would suggest to cut down the amount of sugar by a little (it was a little sweet) use a very high quality extra virgin oil, and add a chicken breast so it will fill you up more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
Ok, will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pasta with Fresh Tomato Sauce

This delicious pasta dish comes together in just minutes.

Barilla® Pasta with Asparagus, Salmon, & Tomato

Salmon combines with fresh asparagus and cherry tomatoes in this simple pasta.

Pasta Salad with Avocado, Tomato, & Mozzarella

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States