Light Fruit and Nut Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I love this granola! It's delicious. I didn't have the spelt flour so I used ww pastry. Only had sugar free pancake syrup so I used that for the maple syrup. Turned out perfect, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I totally appreciate a recipe that can cut fat yet doesn't sacrifice much, if anything. This recipe fits that bill. There is a subtle difference between this and one that uses more oil and boils a syrup first, but it's not a 'step down' kind of difference. This one won't 'chunk up' because of that and seems a little drier, but has so much flavor! I was skeptical that the applesauce would produce a crisp granola, but it worked! Very crisp. Must be the flour that helps it along. I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 ground flax to make up for the spelt flour I didn't have. I also left out the maple syrup I didn't have and this was plenty sweet. I added in almonds for the pecans, and dried blueberries for the apricots(topped with a few fresh for the photo). Fyi, this makes about 4 cups. Thank you so much for the recipe. It will be made often in this kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This recipe has great potential, but something was missing. I made it with the spelt flour, cut the amount of brown sugar in half, subbed raisins for apricots and almonds for half of the pecans. I also used molassas instead of some of the maple syrup. It was tasty, but needed something else. I added a little salt and will use less flour next time, as well as add some vanilla. Thanks for a good base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
It was SO GOOD. I didn't have apricots, spelt, or flax, so I substituted dried cranberries, whole wheat flour, and wheat germ. Except I completely screwed up and put in 1/2 cup of wheat germ instead of just three tablespoons. But it turned out incredible! The biggest problem I had in the past with making granola was that I couldn't get any of the clusters to hold together, but this one clustered up absolutely beautifully. I'm thrilled. And can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Great recipe, a favorite at our house. I generally cut the sugar in half, especially since I always quadruple the recipe for our large family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Yum! I didn't have spelt ....so I upped the ground flax seed to 1/2c.....added walnuts and sliced almonds, chopped dried dates and dried cranberries .....used only 2tblsons each of the brown sugar and olive oil....and used pure maple syrup. Excellent in my yogurt this morning! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was excellent. I added dried cranberries to the mix and substituted slivered almonds for the pecans. I used about half the sugar. Otherwise I followed the recipe and it was delicious. I think next time I make it I will substitute honey for the syrup (just a preference) and add different seeds and nuts. A terrific base recipe for light and healthy granola!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNFIRE71
Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I didn't have any applesauce, so I used a 1/4 c (total) of canola oil- and I'm pretty sure that's why it didn't come out as sweet as I would have expected. It also burned slightly, but that was my oven's fault. :) I will try again with the applesauce, but as it was it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin J. Sky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was amazing. Who would have thought something so easy could be so good. A winner with the entire family - quite a feat in my household
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This granola is great and very simple to make! Our almost three-year-old daughter and I had fun working on this together. I made three substitutions: Instead of spelt flour: used whole wheat flour, instead of Canola oil: used EVOO, and instead of maple syrup: used molasses. Also, we added 2 tsp of vanilla and 3 Tbs of wheat germ. Delish and nutrish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States