Light Fruit and Nut Granola Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
This was excellent. I added dried cranberries to the mix and substituted slivered almonds for the pecans. I used about half the sugar. Otherwise I followed the recipe and it was delicious. I think next time I make it I will substitute honey for the syrup (just a preference) and add different seeds and nuts. A terrific base recipe for light and healthy granola!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNFIRE71
Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
It was SO GOOD. I didn't have apricots, spelt, or flax, so I substituted dried cranberries, whole wheat flour, and wheat germ. Except I completely screwed up and put in 1/2 cup of wheat germ instead of just three tablespoons. But it turned out incredible! The biggest problem I had in the past with making granola was that I couldn't get any of the clusters to hold together, but this one clustered up absolutely beautifully. I'm thrilled. And can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
I totally appreciate a recipe that can cut fat yet doesn't sacrifice much, if anything. This recipe fits that bill. There is a subtle difference between this and one that uses more oil and boils a syrup first, but it's not a 'step down' kind of difference. This one won't 'chunk up' because of that and seems a little drier, but has so much flavor! I was skeptical that the applesauce would produce a crisp granola, but it worked! Very crisp. Must be the flour that helps it along. I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 ground flax to make up for the spelt flour I didn't have. I also left out the maple syrup I didn't have and this was plenty sweet. I added in almonds for the pecans, and dried blueberries for the apricots(topped with a few fresh for the photo). Fyi, this makes about 4 cups. Thank you so much for the recipe. It will be made often in this kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful
Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
Love that I can make granola low fat!!! This was a great, easy recipe that would be wonderful with a variety of dried fuits and/or nuts. I chose to use dried cranberries and the tartness was a nice compliment to the sweet granola. I really enjoyed using this in my yogurt and berry parfaits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Yum! I didn't have spelt ....so I upped the ground flax seed to 1/2c.....added walnuts and sliced almonds, chopped dried dates and dried cranberries .....used only 2tblsons each of the brown sugar and olive oil....and used pure maple syrup. Excellent in my yogurt this morning! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2009
Great recipe, a favorite at our house. I generally cut the sugar in half, especially since I always quadruple the recipe for our large family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
This recipe has great potential, but something was missing. I made it with the spelt flour, cut the amount of brown sugar in half, subbed raisins for apricots and almonds for half of the pecans. I also used molassas instead of some of the maple syrup. It was tasty, but needed something else. I added a little salt and will use less flour next time, as well as add some vanilla. Thanks for a good base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
I love this granola! It's delicious. I didn't have the spelt flour so I used ww pastry. Only had sugar free pancake syrup so I used that for the maple syrup. Turned out perfect, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Megan's Granola

See how to make easy homemade granola with oats, nuts, and dried fruit.

How to Make Homemade Granola

See how to make your own granola from scratch.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States