Light Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This was easy, quick and delicious! It really doesn't taste much different from "fatter" cookies. I think it's the egg yolk absence that makes it lower in fat and cholesterol. I put peppermint syrup in half of it, and it was really good! About 2 tablespoons. But I do intend to put more peppermint in next time, so the measurement isn't exact. Like my mom would say, "just eye it!" Thanks Megan for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Yum! The only change I made to this recipe was that I added a whole cup of chips instead of a half, but otherwise followed it exactly. The cookies were great, just wish they were a little thicker. They spread out a lot on the cookie sheet, but made 24 large cookies! I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phillipsburg, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
These were great, I didn't change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
Obviously these don't taste like the full fat chocolate chip cookies that most of us are used to. Keeping that in perspective, these are great cookies. They are just right to satisfy that chocolate chip cookie craving without having to worry as much about how many you are consuming. Most of my cookies get eaten in the dough stage, and this dough also tastes great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
In an effort to make these even lighter, I stuck to the basic recipe guidlines but with substitutions. I subbed the sugar with a little agave and splenda for the white sugar. Diabetisweet brown sugar substitute(the best sugar sub I have ever had by far!) for the brown sugar. I used half white flour and half low carb flour and replaced half the butter and all the water with applesauce. I also used whole egg and I doubled the recipe. These were by far some of the best cookies I have ever had, lower carb, low fat or not! Even my son who will only eat my higher fat, full carb foods LOVED them. He took one bite and said "Mom if these are one of your healthy recipes I highly commend you!" :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
My kids really enjoyed these and I enjoyed that they are a healthier recipe. Will make these again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbean

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Very good...can't tell the difference between these and "regular" cookies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe, still very tasty for being low fat. I took another reviewers suggestion of 1/2 butter and 1/2 applesauce, changed to whole wheat flour, and used 1 cp of a mixture of sucanat and natural sugar to bump up the healthiness of these awesome cookies! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bluucantu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Fantastic! I followed this recipe to a T and the cookies were perfect. I especially like how they were lower in calories and fat than regular cookies-- but you can't tell from the taste. They made 24 cookies as expected. Quick and easy. They took about 12-14 minutes to bake, not the 8-10 as given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
I was really pleased with how these cookies turned out. I substituted Splenda for the 1/4 cup of white sugar. Instead of the 6 TBS butter, I used 2 TBS light butter, 3 TBS unsweetened applesauce, and 1 TBS margarine (an odd mix, I know; I was using what I had on hand). I used 1 cup of white flour and 1/2 cup of wheat flour. Finally, as another reviewer suggested, I made sure the water I added was HOT water. I did chill the dough for a short time and baked the cookies for 10 minutes. They came out brown and the flavor was great; however, they are cake-like. I am so pleased that this yolk-free recipe tastes so good and my husband had to ask what was different to make them light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States