Light Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I would rate it four stars if these cookies owned uo to their name, "light." These cookies are okay, pretty good. They were chewy and not too thin. I used 5T butter and 1T applesauce. I also omitted 2 T white sugar. I used 1 1/4 cups all purpose flour and 1/4 cups whole wheat pastry flour. I only got 17 cookies using a 2 tablespoon scoop. That means if you followed this recipe exactly using a 2 T scoop, each cookie would be about 150 calories! Now these are okay for cookies but not "light cookies." Go to award winning soft chocolate chip cookies and they taste so much better with 177 calories each. You can make those cookies 150 each by replace 1/4 of the butter with applesauce, they still tastes like the best cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Well most low fat cookies are just weird, but these were the closest I have gotten to real cookies in my low fat experimenting this summer! One reviewer said they were too thin and crispy, but mine were soft and gooey (maybe because I made 16 cookies from this instead of 24?, so each cookie would have more fat, but I don't want chocolate chip cookies the size of a postage stamp)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2Leia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Elkton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
i could taste the baking soda in the cookies, kinda sucked. were good for the fact that i wanted something cocolate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
The thought of light chocolate chip cookies sounded good.I tried this recipe, it was fairly good to make. The end product was semi good. the cookies were crunchy on the outside but on the inside they appeared and tasted a bit raw. I probably wont try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Before I review this, I'd like to clarify that I'm comparing them to the "quintessential chocolate chip cookie". These particular cookies had a cake-y texture that wasn't unpleasant, but it wasn't what I expect from a chocolate chip cookie. It's a question of preference; these are very airy, and not particularly rich (and I don't see the "chewy" part of the description, they don't really have that). They were tasty (the ingredient combination is tasty, that's just how it is) but the texture was irritatingly un-cookie-like. My sister enjoyed them, and I didn't dislike them; but if you'd like to make rich, moist cookies, this is not really the recipe you want. I will not be making them again unless someone who likes this sort of thing requests it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JASpecht

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lunenburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I just made these and followed the directions exactly except for two things. I didn't hve any chlocolate chips so I tore up a Hersheys bar and used that instead. Also, I baked these for over 30 minutes. I like my cookies soft but when baking them for only 10 minutes, they were crispy balls of hot cookie dough. I was generous with the spoonfulls (as the recipe suggests) but perhaps I was a bit too generous? Anyways, I probably will not make them again. The finished result is still very soft and almost dough-y. The taste is okay but not the best cookie ever. Maybe I messed up but i though i followed the directions exactly... The serving size also calls for 24 and I only got less than 20. Sorry if the 3 star rating is because of smething I did wrong :( EDIT: I was basing my review off of the first one i tasted, wich (i just realized) was larger than the others. It didn't cook through but all the others were perfect, if a bit crisp. Good recipe and WILL be making these again :) sorry I added a peice of bread to the crispy ones and concealed it in a box and made them amazing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
It was soooo dry!!! And stuck to the pan BAD!! My family got sooo sad they wanted WAY better cookies than those theres a HUGE chance I aint trying it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by American Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
It took more like 20 minuets then 10 minuets and I the chocolate lover added more chocolate chips but these are LIGHT cookies so i guess that dosen't matter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
In my quest to find the perfect soft/chewy choc chip cookie, I never made cookies that DID NOT get devoured, until this recipe. These are not worth the ingredients, time or energy. Real easy to make but just not what I was looking for. When a 14 y/o boy turns his nose up at them, there is a serious problem! Cookies were too cake like. I did get 24 cookies as the recipe said. And I have NEVER heard of a recipe you can't double because they don't turn out right! Glad I didn't double it. I found my perfect cookies at nestle. 60 cookies gone in 1 day! I give credit where credit is due but these were pretty bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dna.09

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies I

See how to make the chocolate lover’s chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States