Light Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2004
Very light but sweet enough for a dieter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2004
I was not impressed with these cookies at all. They were so flat and they lacked taste and texture. I was really looking for a tasty light chocolate chop cookie recipe, but unfortunately this wasn't it. It's more satisfying to eat half of one of the "Best, Big, Fat Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie" from this site than to eat a whole one of the cookies in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portsmouth, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
I'm glad I waited to post my review. I wasn't crazy about these right out of the oven or even that same day - almost threw the recipe away. But when I ate one the next day, it was very good! Very chewy and yummy. They did stick horribly to the baking sheet, and when I sprayed Pam on the next batch, they went TOTALLY flat. Will try parchment paper next time. (Don't know how they tasted two days later, coz we ate them all!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOMOFCASSIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Duncansville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2004
Yum Yum Yum Yum YUM!! I didn't think that I would be as happy with these cookies as I am! For being Low fat, they taste like my grandma's...maybe grandma has been making low fat chocolate cookies all this time...Light and fluffy, just like I like them!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2004
These tasted just like regular chocolate chip cookies. Mine didn't really turn out crispy at all, but they were soft and chewy. I added more chocolate chips, which probably canceled out the "light" part of the recipe, but they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
These cookies were AWESOME! They taste exactly like normal Tollhouse chocolate chip cookies andhave a good texture too. Although i did find i had to cook them longer than 8 to 10 minutes for them to get golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EUPHROSYNE81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2004
I just made this chocolate chip cookie, and I have to say that it was pretty good for a lower fat version. It is a little bit drier than your typical chocolate chip cookie, but I still found them to be pretty yummy! I followed the recipe exactly, except I wanted to make double chocolate chip cookies for my chocoholic husband, so I added 7 tablespoons of cocoa powder (derived from a chocolate cookie recipe I have from Cooking Light). The result was that this cookie tasted very brownie like. Very good- I would definitely try this recipe again. Who thought that even low fat cookies could taste so good? And I feel much better making these cookies than buying commercial ones loaded with trans-fats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
ugh...ive made much better cookies...these were awlful and not worth the low fat because i kept on trying more to see if they would start to taste better. It didn't work and they came out flat and thin. There is no substitute for the real thing. Try the award winning cookies. everyong loves those because they come out fluffy and yummy. Don't make the same mistake that i did
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
Wow! I really couldn't tell the difference between these cookies and the regular (i.e. full fat) ones! They are crispy outside and chewy inside--just the way I like them. I think they are better than Mrs. Field's, and also the Award winning chocolate chip cookie recipe on this site (the one that uses instant pudding mix)...a lot less greasy and definitely not sickeningly sweet. =D I substituted butter flavored crisco for butter because crisco is supposed to make it spread less (there's no water content in crisco, unlike butter). The dough turned out a bit sticky, but the cookies turned out fabulous. I was scared initially because they looked really puffed up when I took them out of the oven, but after a while they deflated and looked just like the kind in bakeries. I was gonna try white chocolate chips, but I think it will be way too sweet when combined with this dough. So semi-sweet chocolate chips are the best choice...I used Ghiradelli's and they tasted wonderful. P.S. I baked these at 2 am in the morning after reading the reviews, and even though I am on a diet, I just couldn't resist eating a couple of them! THE BEST recipe and a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
This cookie had a great taste; it really satisfied my munchies. I used 4 tablespoons of butter and 2 tablespoons of canola oil, and it still turned out great. However, this hardened the texture, but I like crispy cookies! The taste was just phenomenal. I loved the fact that it used only 1 egg white; it lowers the amount of cholesterol in the cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States