Light Avocado Egg Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
Great concept, not a good execution. I like to have more goo and this recipe just comes out dry. So I used 6 eggs, a whole avocado (plus a little lime juice to keep the avo green longer), 2T of spiced mustard, slightly more than the recommended green onions, and I still felt like I had to add 1/4 C of mayo, ... Probably could have added a little less mayo, but I still liked it. Plus I added 2 diced clausen pickles(because I love them), and 1.5 T of cilantro ... because why not with the avocado and lime(?), and it only enhanced the egg salad flavor, no Mexican flavor like I anticipated. It made enough for 4 open faced sandwiches, and 2.5 regular sandwiches (I use less in a regular sandwich to avoid too much spilling out the edges).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I really thought this was terrible. It could just be that it's not my taste - the combination of the two. I'm glad I tried it, but I won't be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
Haven't been a huge fan of avocados. Came across this while looking for other recipes and decided to try it for my wife ( she loooves avocados). Used four eggs and a wholly avocado mini tub. I actually liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ben Dunston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
I used a whole avocado and it was still no where creamy enough. Still had to use a BUNCH of mayo and the avocado turned an unappealing shade of black/green as it oxidized in the salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2015
i had to make a few alterations due to lack of supply. I used 6 eggs and a whole avocado. It was enough for about 5 sandwiches. My only issue with this recipe is that its bland. I had to add salt and pepper but in the end it turned out fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allie Merrill

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
Great recipe, if eaten immediately. I like egg salad the second day and the avocados of course turned brown. Still tastes delicious on a sandwich though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
The only change I made was to use more Avocado. It was so creamy, next time I'll add some pepper flakes and more green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
Fabulous recipe!! A very healthy egg salad, avocado is such a good substitute for Mayo!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mitali Adlakha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I used 3/4 avocado too, but it turned out amazing! My girlfriends loved them & they were gone by the end of the night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Grapevine, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
I used more avocado, but don't think it was enough. The green onions were not optional in my opinion. I ended up adding small dives of extra sharp cheddar to add some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Egg Salad

See how to make a simple, satisfying egg salad.

Delicious Egg Salad for Sandwiches

See how to make a classic egg salad for sandwiches and crackers.

Egg Salad I

See how to make an egg salad with lots of tangy mustard and dill weed.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States