Liege Style Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
My great grandmother was from the Liege region of Belgium. She made her potato salad with equal parts sugar and vinegar (I use 1/2 balsamic and 1/2 wine) to give it a sweet/sour flavor. She also used salt pork not bacon. But since salt pork is difficult to find I usually have to settle for bacon. Yummy! Just had some tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
What a great way to combine fresh green beans and potatoes! My family of veggie lovers thought this was great. Adjust the vinegar with olive oil and sugar if you are omitting the bacon grease. This is definitely best served warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houghton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Saline, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I had to try this recipe because my parents are from a small town not far from Liege, and this reminded me of dishes at my grandmothers' houses. I made this for a recent dinner party/barbecue and got rave reviews. I rarely follow recipes to the "T" when it comes to proportions (other than baking) but I know I used a full pound of bacon. It was not too much because so much volume was lost in the cooking. I used more potatoes than called for. Although I didn't measure it out, I'm sure I did not use 2 cups of balsamic. I added it about 2 Tbs. at a time and then tasted until it seemed right. I liked the fact that this recipe is not loaded with oil or mayo. As I said, everyone loved the potato salad and this will be added to my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I'm thrilled to find this recipe! My Belgian great-aunt made this for me years ago, and I've been wanting to make it ever since. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Just before serving, sprinkle with some grated paremesean cheese...add's a little zip....and possibly a little seeded, dices roma tomatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Good. I used only a touch of the vinegar for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
thanks for posting! iused to live right outside of liege and my host family made this often! i still get a hankering for it from time to time! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redscarletto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
My dad used to make this all the time when I was growing up. It's such a simple recipe, but it packs in a lot of flavour, and leaves you feeling satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA
Living In: Utrecht, Utrecht, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I think this is best served warm, and with a bit less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was good but if you stick to the recipe, you're going to end up with A LOT of bacon grease. I poured off all but about a tablespoon, and that was plenty. I also used white balsamic vinegar which is much more mellow-tasting than the regular stuff (You might want to add a pinch of sugar if you don't like a strong vinegar taste). Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States