Liege Style Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
My great grandmother was from the Liege region of Belgium. She made her potato salad with equal parts sugar and vinegar (I use 1/2 balsamic and 1/2 wine) to give it a sweet/sour flavor. She also used salt pork not bacon. But since salt pork is difficult to find I usually have to settle for bacon. Yummy! Just had some tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
Just before serving, sprinkle with some grated paremesean cheese...add's a little zip....and possibly a little seeded, dices roma tomatoe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2006
Good. I used only a touch of the vinegar for sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
This was good but if you stick to the recipe, you're going to end up with A LOT of bacon grease. I poured off all but about a tablespoon, and that was plenty. I also used white balsamic vinegar which is much more mellow-tasting than the regular stuff (You might want to add a pinch of sugar if you don't like a strong vinegar taste). Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I had to try this recipe because my parents are from a small town not far from Liege, and this reminded me of dishes at my grandmothers' houses. I made this for a recent dinner party/barbecue and got rave reviews. I rarely follow recipes to the "T" when it comes to proportions (other than baking) but I know I used a full pound of bacon. It was not too much because so much volume was lost in the cooking. I used more potatoes than called for. Although I didn't measure it out, I'm sure I did not use 2 cups of balsamic. I added it about 2 Tbs. at a time and then tasted until it seemed right. I liked the fact that this recipe is not loaded with oil or mayo. As I said, everyone loved the potato salad and this will be added to my regular repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Way too much vinegar for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I think this is best served warm, and with a bit less vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Way too "vinegary" and sour. Taste was similar to German Potato Salad flavor but without the sugar to offset the sour taste. I think canned green beans would have been much easier and quicker than using fresh. The recipe doesn't specify whether to retain or drain off the bacon fat. I drained off most of it for health reasons, reserving just a little for flavor. When I asked my husband's opinion, he said, "Well, honestly, when I came home and smelled that smell I hoped that wasn't what we were eating for dinner!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I'm thrilled to find this recipe! My Belgian great-aunt made this for me years ago, and I've been wanting to make it ever since. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2011
thanks for posting! iused to live right outside of liege and my host family made this often! i still get a hankering for it from time to time! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by redscarletto

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

Chef John's Salad Lyonnaise

This meal-worthy salad features bacon and poached egg with a simple vinaigrette.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States