Liege Belgian Waffles with Pearl Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Amazeballs! Love it! Haven't tried sugar pearls yet and have to crush up sugar cubes, but it works! I would recommend reheating in a toaster or oven, never in the microwave as they will be soft and the yeast flavor will come out too strong. Doesn't even need syrup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
This recipe was surprisingly less difficult than I thought it would be. The waffles turned out with a great level of crispiness, sweetness, and that delicious yeasty flavor. However, my waffles leaked butter everywhere, so I think next time I will cut the butter down to one and a half or maybe even just one stick of butter. Otherwise, everything was delicious. I may try the turbinado sugar or the sugar cubes next time to see how close to this it turns out, as the pearl sugar is a little on the pricey side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookaholic

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is my 1st time to rate recipe in this site, just because i tried this recipe and it turn out so great. Been searching for this type of wraffle recipe for long, finally get this one and i am so glad that i try, it will be my go for recipe!!! Follow 100% the recipe and it turn out with so good with taste and texture, when cooking its already smell so good. Just need to keep an eye with it as it so easy to burn with the suger. 5 stars are just not enough, yup its that great!!! Thanks so much for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Excellent! I finally had the pearl sugar and that recipe did the rest. I put raspberries and whip cream. Heaven :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I have tried this recipie with every different sugar I could think of and the best I found was to take some raw sugar, spread it on a parchment covered cookie sheet. Drizzle a couple teaspoons of boiling water over it and mix in until sugar is clumpy. Throw in a hot oven for 3 or 4 minutes until it gets sizzly and then toss around with the parchment paper to break into small clumps. I paid about 12 bucks for the larsens sugar and was really dissapointed. We got these at Bruxies for $4 each, but my homemade with raw sugar are much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Great. I substituted hard old brown sugar (as hard as a rock) that I broke up to small bits for the pearl sugar. I got the caramelization effect that was desired. My wife said after her first bite, "why don't more people make waffles like this?' Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
use less large sugar. maybe half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made these waffles today for a pot luck brunch. I'd been wanting to make liege waffles since I had them at a ski resort in Tahoe. The other recipes I saw online looked too difficult or too plain, and this one struck the perfect balance. For me, the hardest part of the recipe was letting the dough rise in 80 deg temperature. I ended up putting a space heater in my bathroom and cranking it up to make it warm enough. After the first 30 mins the dough hadn't risen, so I turned the heater to blow directly on the bowl, and 20 minutes later it had risen! One of my favorite things about these waffles are how little mess they make! The firm ball of dough cooks into a waffle without spilling all over the counter. My waffle iron (Krugs belgian waffle maker) doesn't have a temperature setting, and I don't think the sugar melted quite enough, but the waffles were still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great recipe. First time making these and whole family is addicted. Did not have pearl sugar handy so chopped up a bunch of sugar cubes. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These were delicious and exactly how I was hoping they would turn out. Very soft and dense on the inside, with a crunchy sugary exterior. I used a large crystal turbinado sugar and it worked perfectly (I mixed one cup into the dough and then sprinkled the rest evenly on top before pressing the iron down). They were very buttery but it made clean-up a breeze since the crystalized sugar on the waffle iron just slid right off. So much better than a regular waffle, and great to eat just as-is. I also froze some and reheated in the oven and they may have even been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States