Liege Belgian Waffles with Pearl Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great recipe. First time making these and whole family is addicted. Did not have pearl sugar handy so chopped up a bunch of sugar cubes. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These were delicious and exactly how I was hoping they would turn out. Very soft and dense on the inside, with a crunchy sugary exterior. I used a large crystal turbinado sugar and it worked perfectly (I mixed one cup into the dough and then sprinkled the rest evenly on top before pressing the iron down). They were very buttery but it made clean-up a breeze since the crystalized sugar on the waffle iron just slid right off. So much better than a regular waffle, and great to eat just as-is. I also froze some and reheated in the oven and they may have even been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Good! The first time i tried making these i didnt have any pearl sugar, so i followed some of the alternatives from the reviews and my waffle didnt turn out great. Once i found my hands on some pearl sugar, the texture and taste was perfect! I'd also suggest adding 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon to the 10 waffle serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I'm sure this recipe is great, but I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. The result was a very grainy and yeasty tasting waffle. While the pearl sugar does sweeten the waffles, I'm not a fan of how they came out with whole wheat flour. I'll update my review the next time I make it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
not great, too thick with too little egg and I didn't get the crispy shell to form on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The closest recipes that I have found to the authentic waffles on the streets of Brussels. I made a 7 Serving batch. I used 2+ cups of King Arthur Bread flour, I added a tbs of Honey, 2 tsp of Vanilla, and decreased the butter to 3 tbs, which ended up being not enough. They still came out very good. I will try again and add more butter. Shh! Do not tell my wife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Two types of pearl sugar. You should use Belgian not Scandinavian. Belgian softens and carmelizes whereas other pearl sugar remains hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Nice recipe but it took me a long time to find the pearl sugar in Australia. I finally found "Swaffels" online http://swaffels.com/pearl_sugar.html Perhaps this will help some of your Aussie cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Really close to what I remember having in Belgium. I used smashed sugar cubes instead of pearl sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RadicalMomof3
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I LOVE this recipe! It turned out great, even the first time I tried it. I used crushed sugar cubes because I couldn't find pearl sugar. I will order some pearl sugar to use next time, but I really loved it just fine the way it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States