Liege Belgian Waffles with Pearl Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
use less large sugar. maybe half of what the recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I made these waffles today for a pot luck brunch. I'd been wanting to make liege waffles since I had them at a ski resort in Tahoe. The other recipes I saw online looked too difficult or too plain, and this one struck the perfect balance. For me, the hardest part of the recipe was letting the dough rise in 80 deg temperature. I ended up putting a space heater in my bathroom and cranking it up to make it warm enough. After the first 30 mins the dough hadn't risen, so I turned the heater to blow directly on the bowl, and 20 minutes later it had risen! One of my favorite things about these waffles are how little mess they make! The firm ball of dough cooks into a waffle without spilling all over the counter. My waffle iron (Krugs belgian waffle maker) doesn't have a temperature setting, and I don't think the sugar melted quite enough, but the waffles were still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Great recipe. First time making these and whole family is addicted. Did not have pearl sugar handy so chopped up a bunch of sugar cubes. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISKELE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
These were delicious and exactly how I was hoping they would turn out. Very soft and dense on the inside, with a crunchy sugary exterior. I used a large crystal turbinado sugar and it worked perfectly (I mixed one cup into the dough and then sprinkled the rest evenly on top before pressing the iron down). They were very buttery but it made clean-up a breeze since the crystalized sugar on the waffle iron just slid right off. So much better than a regular waffle, and great to eat just as-is. I also froze some and reheated in the oven and they may have even been better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Good! The first time i tried making these i didnt have any pearl sugar, so i followed some of the alternatives from the reviews and my waffle didnt turn out great. Once i found my hands on some pearl sugar, the texture and taste was perfect! I'd also suggest adding 3/4 teaspoon of cinnamon to the 10 waffle serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
I'm sure this recipe is great, but I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose. The result was a very grainy and yeasty tasting waffle. While the pearl sugar does sweeten the waffles, I'm not a fan of how they came out with whole wheat flour. I'll update my review the next time I make it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
not great, too thick with too little egg and I didn't get the crispy shell to form on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
The closest recipes that I have found to the authentic waffles on the streets of Brussels. I made a 7 Serving batch. I used 2+ cups of King Arthur Bread flour, I added a tbs of Honey, 2 tsp of Vanilla, and decreased the butter to 3 tbs, which ended up being not enough. They still came out very good. I will try again and add more butter. Shh! Do not tell my wife!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Two types of pearl sugar. You should use Belgian not Scandinavian. Belgian softens and carmelizes whereas other pearl sugar remains hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Nice recipe but it took me a long time to find the pearl sugar in Australia. I finally found "Swaffels" online http://swaffels.com/pearl_sugar.html Perhaps this will help some of your Aussie cooks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States