Liege Belgian Waffles with Pearl Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 8, 2015
These are absolutely fantastic!!!!!! They are our family favorite. We make no changes to the recipe.... I usually don't rate recipes but I felt obligated to rate this one, it is that good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elisa Fernandez
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
These waffles are so good. I made 300 for my sisters wedding and have made them several times since. They are always enjoyed by people. They cook nicely and they do well even if you prepare the dough the night before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Payton80
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2015
This is a fantastic recipe. I let the dough rise over night. I would say add the sugar in first as the dough gets very bready and is hard to mix the pearl sugar in after its risen. I also added only about a half cup of the sugar and it worked beautifully and was still plenty sweet. We tend not to like an overly sweet anything! Fantastic recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Years ago, a new mall opened close to our house in Irondequoit NY. There was a little red English delivery van there that had been converted to a Belgian Waffle concession. I fell in love at first bite, and used to make excuses to "go to the mall" so I could sneak a snack. Unfortunately the owner closed up after a year or so. Years later while in Brussels I found my wonderful waffles again... just like I had loved back at home. I tried this recipe today, and it was perfect!! I tried chopping sugar cubes to make the pearl sugar... a real pain to get 1-1/2 cups worth. I think I'll order pearl sugar for my next batch (oh yes, there WILL be a next batch!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hillary
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Tasted like waffle truck waffles! They were dee-lish! My favorite way to top them is cookie butter (or biscoff), bananas, fresh whipped cream, and a caramel drizzle. If you need more ideas for amazing toppings check out waffle crush, waffle love, and waffle bliss.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2015
Excellent recipe! I didn't have sugar pearls and couldn't find them locally, so instead, I bought a box of sugar cubes, put them in a plastic bag and pounded them with a rolling pin until I had pearl sized sugar pieces. I used a sieve to sort out the pieces from the loose sugar and a box made about 1 1/2 cup pieces and a half cup of loose sugar. I did find that keeping the waffle maker on medium and cooking them for about 4-4 1/2 minutes each made for an evenly browned waffle and minimal butter loss. Keep in mind, I don't have a fancy waffle maker, just a simple little round Oster waffle iron that I bought at Kmart for $18. The pearls would have been best, but they came out nice and crisp, buttery and with the sugar in nice little lumps all over. I took the loose sugar from above and made an almond sour cream filling with 16 oz sour cream, 1/4c sugar(approx.- sweeten to taste), 1 tsp almond extract, 1/2 tsp vanilla extract. I also made a berry topping with approx 2 tablespoons of sugar, 1 cup blackberries, 1 cup blueberries, 1 teaspoon of lemon juice. I cooked the berries until they boiled- pureed the mixture and added 1 teaspoon of cornstarch and then cooked it on low until thickened. All together it made a fantastic brunch dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
Made this once trying to work around not having the pearl sugar - it was OK. With the pearl sugar, AMAZING! I followed the recipe exactly and let it rise in my oven preheated for standard proofing. Might try rapid proof temp next time or give it a few extra minutes. I used a Waring iron that rotates to make two waffles at a time. Heat was set on 4.3 or so. Cleaning caramelized sugar out of the iron afterwards was a bit messy - but the results are so worth it. I think I like the waffles best at room temp (gives the sugar a chance to solidify a bit). Definitely no syrup needed! I got the pearl sugar from Black Tie Mercantile on Amazon. It was the most expensive bag of sugar I ever bought but I would do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlie Prothero

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Excellent recipe followed exactly as directed. FYI, Lar's Own pearl sugar is available at Sur la Table stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I have made these once before as recommended with just a bit less butter and they turned out really good. I can't stand when people rate lesser stars because they changed or modified the recipe, thus the five stars. This is a really good start for a Liege Waffle in my opinion. I've tried a few recipes now. There's another one on a very long blog that's also good, but I question whether that recipe author really understands baking because that recipe is way over complicated - much more than it needs to be. When I do this recipe now, I make very early or the night before. I do think that in order to really replicate a Belgian Waffle, the dough needs to be chilled for a period of time. I made this early this AM and divided onto a greased cookie sheet and refrigerated for a couple hours (better if all night). Pull the cookie sheet out for about 30 minutes before making the waffles. This turns out a lot more like a true Belgian waffle (I was just there last month and ate a lot of the "real deals").
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Really easy, dad , and so delicious!! I decreased the butter by a third and would still decrease it more, it was so rich. The dough was a softer dough than the overnight recipes I have used in the past, but so much better tasting. I had bought Lars sugar pearls at ikea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JYHICKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Belgian Waffles

Deep, fluffy yeast waffles with crispy edges and soft centers.

Cinnamon Belgian Waffles

See how to make light, fluffy Belgian waffles with a cinnamon kick.

Classic Waffles

Wake up to a classic breakfast treat that's easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States