Lick Your Lips Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I loved this recipe, but I add a pineapple filling in the middle and it was such a hit that everyone asks me to make it for almost every occasion! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2013
IT was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rushmore, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
I didn't have a cake mix so I used Pineapple Cake III and this frosting. It was a huge hit with the husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geneseo, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
I almost gave this only 4 stars since the recipe was unclear about whether or not to drain the fruit. But after eating the cake, I decided to be more forgiving since it turned out so wonderfully delicious. I used all the juice from the oranges and all of the juice from the pineapple. It was very moist and delicious. This is a very refreshing dessert, great for summertime parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Buckley Grant

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Delicious!!! I made a 2-layer 8" round cake & filled the cake with vanilla pudding. For the icing, I used: Double Batch of Sweetened Whipped Cream (From this site) Can of crushed Pineapple with juice Coconut Pudding Mix It was awesome!!!!! However, my cake needed to be kept in the fridge right until serving because the icing was droopy...but that could be because I made whipped cream from scratch, and didn't use Cool Whip. I would definitely make this again!! Next time I am going to try adding cherries or pineapple to the cake mix, as the cake itself was kind of boring. Or maybe I will use french vanilla cake mix instead of the yellow. Definitely worth a try & very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetChelsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
Made it exactly as directed except added mandarin juice to the cake. Took it to a family get together and everyone wanted the recipe. It was gone within 1 hr. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by potsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
Just FYI, there were two toppings for this cake. Of the two toppings, I use this other one if anyone wants to try it. 8oz creamcheese, 1 cup milk, 3.4oz vanilla instant pudding mix, 20 oz can crushed pineapple(well drained), 8oz carton cool whip, and nuts or coconut. Beat first 4 ingredients until thick and spread on cake. then spread the cool whip on top of the creamcheese mixture. Then Sprinkle with chopped walnuts or coconut. This topping tastes better. It also makes a prettier presentation with chopped walnuts sprinkled on top of the white cool whip. But if I don't have creamcheese, I just use the other topping that's in this recipe. Not as pretty because the topping is yellow on a yellow cake. Those who didn't like this cake would probably love it with the creamcheese topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Made cake as directed except I drained and reserved the pineapple juice. When making the topping, it appeared a little too thick, so I added approximately 1/4 cup of the pineapple juice to make it more like frosting. I kept the leftover topping to serve with the cake. This can also be used a a fruit dip. Either way, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
I've made this delicious recipe for years! This recipe is close to the one I use, but I still put in the oil in the cake mix and leave the juice from the manderin orange can :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
I made the recipe exactly as stated. I put all of juice from oranges into cake. I made it in a bundt cake pan so it looked pretty. I took this cake and a chocolate chip cheesecake to a party and this went faster than cheesecake! Excellent for summer time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States