Lick Your Lips Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
MIX IT ALL IN ONE BOWL! I have made this cake for years but one time I accidentally put the pineapple and pudding mix in with the cake mix and oranges and eggs. I went ahead and baked it just for fun and we loved it much better this way and I have done it that way since. Is is more flavorful. We top it with plain Cool Whip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
Yummy and super easy. In addition to following the recipe, I sprayed the pan with Pam which is not mentioned. I used some but not all of the juice from the oranges. Chill the topping for an hour or more before icing the cake so the pudding has a chance to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
My family didn't care for this very much. We did like the NAME of the cake...and really like the icing. I will be using the icing on other cakes. UPDATE: Since my last review I found another cake very similar to this recipe that added 1 cup of crushed pineapple to the cake mix. This made the cake very moist and yummy. My family all went back for seconds with this simple addition!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hoffman, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
i just made this cake today and it is excellent. unbelievably easy and it smells really good. i used light everything, cool whip, pudding. and i just dumped the whole can of mandarin oranges in, juice and all. it's a great, quick light dessert for summer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2002
What a delicious cake. Everyone enjoyed it! The recipe doesn't stipulate if the mandarin oranges should be drained so I compromised and drained half the liquid.....the cake came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Merritt Island, Florida, USA
Living In: Saint Cloud, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2008
This was great!! I used a french vanilla cake mix and ran the oranges through my mini food processor before adding them. I thought I recognized the frosting recipe before then remembered that I've made it in the past as a fruit dip. It's great to use as dip for strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by windedmama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Northborough, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I bought a pineapple flavored cake and mixed as directed on the box and then added the mandarin oranges and mixed again. I split my cake into two layers as there was a TON of frosting and made a two layer cake. Everyone loved it, and I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
This was awesome! I sprayed the pan with Pam, as it doesn't say whether to grease it. I think it probably needed some flour also. I didn't know whether the juice from the oranges went in or not. Some did, some halved it. I used it all with a Butter golden cake mix as I couldn't wait to make this. I had to bake it a little longer and when I touch tested it the middle sank. The cake is light, airy, and moist. A little crumbly, that may be the difference in the juice or the cake mix I used. It also looks like it is going to stick to the pan in places. All in all, a great light refreshing taste. This would make a delicious summertime treat. Thanks Denise B!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
When I made the cake part, I added in one teaspoon of pure vanilla extract and one teaspoon of almond extract. For the frosting, I folded in about a cup of toasted coconut. My family LOVED this cake--I swear, there's only a couple pieces left and I made it two days ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by girl's best friend
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
I would've given this 5 stars, but I'm not one for clumps or small bit of anything in my icing except icing. I saw that I might not be a big fan of the icing, but I decided that I should stick to the recipe exactly the first time I made it. I did what others did: put PAM on it before pouring in the batter. The cake was delicious. I loved this and will be making it again, but this time without the pineapple in the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girl's best friend

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States