Libby's® Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
I was always scared to try this but it really was pretty easy when you use some helpful hints. Use waxed paper in the bottom of the pan before baking, peel it off when the cake is done baking, apply new sheets of wax paper to the top and bottom of the cake and roll up. Allow to cool for about 30 minutes, then unroll, remove wax paper, frost and roll up again. Great holiday treat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
806 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookntaste

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: East Greenville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I have made this dozens of times. It's best with more spices: 2 t. cinnamon, 1 t. pumpkin pie spice and 1/2 t. nutmeg. This is my all time favorite recipe! I think I'm invited to so many holiday parties just because people want me to bring this pumpkin cheese roll. BE SURE TO USE PARAFIN PAPER ON YOUR PAN- this sticks like crazy! Also be sure to ring out the towel very well, and don't undercook the cake. If this is too moist it will stick to the towel and you'll have a mess. Roll the finished cake tightly in plastic wrap, and it will keep it's shape nicely as it chills.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
553 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
This was moist and delicious. I used a baking sheet instead of a jelly pan and had excellent results. I also put the powdered sugar covered towel on top of the cake while it was still in the pan, then put a large baking rack on top of that and THEN flipped the whole thing over. The first time I tried to flip the cake onto the towel it all landed on the floor. Be sure to let the cake cool all the way in the towel before you try adding the filling, ortherwaise the filling gets too loose and runs out the side. I would also recommend using about 1/4 cup less powdered surgar in the filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
329 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This recipe turned out wonderful after I made a few alteration's to suit my tastes. I had problems with it the first time I made it with the cake cracking when I rolled it up and ended up with more cake on the towel than on the cake. So I added more flour, 1 cup plus a TBSP or 2 and I alway's increase the spices when I make anything with pumpkin just because I think it makes it taste so much better, plus with these rolls more spices makes the cake a little darker which I like. And I also did not roll the cake up as soon as I inverted it onto the towel I let it sit for about 5 min., then I rolled it up. And I unrolled it when it was lukewarm and I had no problems when I rolled it back up with the frosting on it. One thing I recommend is not using all the frosting because it ends up coming out the sides and all over the towel and just making a mess in the end. I think it is too much frosting if you use the whole amount recommended. I refridgerated the remaining amount for quite a while until I made another one and it tasted fine.So if anyone had the problems I did try it the way I did and see if you have better result's. It is probably just me though, everyone else's was probably fine, I'm just glad I finally got one to turn out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetcakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cumberland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
Awesome recipe. Easy to make and follow. The only change I made is to use 3/4C of brown sugar instead of the white sugar. It gives it an even better taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Connellsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
The recipe that I use is very similar to this one... it is always a huge hit at thanksgiving.. my daughter talks about it all year long.. After the rolls are completely cooled, I always wrap them in plastic wrap and then foil, and throw them in the freezer. It is a lot easier to cut when it is still a little frozen. I normally make them a week or 2 ahead of time. They keep really well. I like to cut each roll in half, wrap in a decorative towel or napkin tie with a piece of ribbon or raffia and give to friends/neighbors as a thanksgiving treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
150 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Everyone loved this and it was gone in a flash, leaving everyone wanting more. I would suggest softening the cream cheese and butter but not letting them come to room temperature. The filling needs to be soft enough to spread, but not so soft that it squishes when you roll the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mallinda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salem, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2003
This is such a hit-light and tasty! The only thing- MAKE SURE you use a "jelly-roll" pan, otherewise it just doesn't turn out right. Too much cream cheese wasted pouring out the sides. You might also think of adding some liquor to the dough, mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasha_n_kids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Menifee, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I made this because I bought the BIG can of pumpkin and didn't need two pumpkin pies for Thanksgiving. Very easy and elegant looking when done. I used a good size splash of Grand Mariner instead of vanilla for the filling. It was really good. Going to keep this recipe for good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
Made this for work last year and it was the hit of the office party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States