Libby's® Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
I have been making this recipe for many years. Taste and consistency great as written. I think it works better to cut the cake in half. Cut across the length, not with the length. Then roll them up starting with the cut side. Use 2 towels making 2 rolls, of course. Elevate off the counter on a cookie rack to cool. Spread half the icing on each roll when rolls are cool, then reroll. Keep refrigerated. Can freeze beautifully. I have never had a problem sticking using parchment paper, i don't even spray. After baking, let cool 5 min. Grab the parchment paper which extends past the pan and leisurely flip cake over onto a towel, then cut and wrap to totally cool. Frost. Reroll. Super easy recipe after you have done it. Looks good, tastes great! ,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I have to add another 5 star rating! This is fantastic! I doubled the recipe to make 2 (because I was afraid I would screw the first one up) and they BOTH turned out fabulous!! I followed the recipe exactly. I think if you dont overbake it will roll perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheryl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Wonderful!!! The only change I made is using parchment paper instead of a powder-sugared towel to turn out and help roll my cake. I will make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Dauterman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Northwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
Get ready to light up your taste buds with this recipe. My husband doesnt much care for pumpkin, but raved over this. I have already made 2 of these within a week. I did follow one of the other reviews to change the way I baked the roll. I use parchment paper on the bottom of the pan,no grease no flour. Then flip the baked cake out onto another piece of parchment paper. After I peel the piece of parchment paper of the top, I then lay a piece of wax paper on top. Then carefully roll the cake and let cool. I had very good luck doing it this way. I also use extra seasonings. Instead of using 1/2 t. of cinnamon I use 2 t.. I love more pumpkin flavor so I use 1 t. pumpkin pie spice and I use 1/2 t. nutmeg along with the rest of the other ingrediants. Good luck and enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Everyone loves this! My family tends to go a little (a lot) overboard on special holiday dinners so we wind up making several pumpkin rolls so everyone has one to take home with all of the other leftovers we divide up. Thank you Libby's for another timeless classic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYSUNSHINE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
have made this many times & its delicious. Only problem this time Ive made it in a hurry & used a whole can of pumpkin by accident...hopefully it will be ok!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I have been making this for years. Wonderful and never leftovers. I have used different flavorings for the filling besides vanilla with good result. ie. grand marnier. hazelnut coffee creamer(super in cream cheese frosting for carrot cake as well). Some have said there is too much filling. I disagree.2 things to do: only fill to within one to 1/2 inch of edge and allow the roll proccess to put it to the edge. Also do not roll too tight; if you start the center to roll and use the towel to finish, there should be no oozing of filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamar Lundeen

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Very nice roll. I was surprised by how easy this was to make. Tasted by all of us. Loved by all of us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
I made this for an office luncheon this past week and everyone loved it. I did roll it differently than the directions state (which I won't be doing again!) based on someone else's review. I dusted the roll with confectioners sugar and rolled in parchment paper because I didn't have a towel handy. The sugar melted and made it even stickier, so it was harder to work with, but it tasted great. Next time I will just use a towel. I also put the cream in the fridge after preparing because I find it is easier to roll without it spilling out. Edited to add: made this again for thanksgiving, I rolled in Parchment paper again and didn't dust with sugar, roll came out PERFECT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
This was the first time I have ever made a pumpkin cake roll. I switched the cloves for nutmeg, and bumped up the cinnamon for 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon. Other than that slight change I kept it the same. This was amazingly easy to prepare and made for a stunning presentation, It was exceptionally quick to make also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 540) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States