Libby's® Pumpkin Roll with Cream Cheese Filling Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
This is not a complicated cake to make and last year I made 16 and gave them as gifts. I made two at a time over the course of a month and froze them. I roll the cakes in wax or parchment paper instead of a towel for easy cleanup – which is what you want if you make 16! You also need to line your pan with wax paper; otherwise your cake will stick. After the cake is finished, I wrap it in plastic wrap and freeze it. Once it's frozen, I remove it from the freezer and slice off the ends for a nice presentation. Then I pre-cut the cake into 12 slices, rewrap it, put it back into the freezer until I am ready to give it as a gift or serve it for a dessert. If you pre-slice and freeze it, you can even just keep one for yourself. The slices separate very easily while frozen, and they thaw quickly on a plate. I will be making several again this year to give as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HKR

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
I make this pumpkin roll recipe every year and someone always asks me for the recipe. I use parchment paper instead of greased and floured wax paper, so the process is less messy. I also found that I can make perfect slices by using unwaxed dental floss to cut the roll. Fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
Awesome! Almost better than pumpkin pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Made this for the first time for my sister's birthday. It turned out wonderful! A delicious pumpkin flavor and the icing wasn't too sweet. I'll be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Tastes delicious but makes my kitchen a big mess. I think it's worth it though for special occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
This is delicious. I have made 2 or 3 of these and I'm delighted at how easy this recipe is. I love the filling, but the whole thing tastes like a professional made it! Very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mountain Home, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
So easy! Mine came out just like the picture--I love it when that happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I love this recipe, but to put in a bit of advice- at the time I didn't have baking soda, and just as well cause sometimes baking soda can just make things bitter. I use double the baking powder. I like my cake roll just a tad fluffier. What I do is take the 3 eggs and separate whites and yolk. I beat the whites with the sugar(with an electric beater to add some air, it doesn't create a super air-ed out mixture like it would for soufle cause of the amount of sugar, but just get it super thick and creamy). Then I just mix the pumpkin with the flour mixture and yolks. Once its all moistened I stir in the sugared beat whites, not really folding them in just mixing them. Try to mix the thick clumpy floured pumpkin well enough though before spreading in the pan. It makes the cake a little bigger and SO MUCH EASIER TO ROLL. Make sure you roll RIGHT AWAY for the heat makes it flexible, then let it cool AT LEAST 30 mins. A warm cake roll will spill out the cream cheese filling. I did not have wax paper. I just used tin foil carefully wrapping the pan i used and sprayed bakers joy. I also added a 1/2 teaspoon nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zz827
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I love love this!...and so did everyone I served it to =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zz827

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
always the best any time of the year. I do use low fat cream cheese and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SusanB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States