Libby's® Pumpkin Pecan Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Really tasty pie, a little rich but for the holiday time an alright splurge! I baked it 50 minutes and it was a little too long, wish I had been watching it closer. Those pecans on the top burn quickly so I'd just recomend really watching the cooking time and checking it often before the 50 minute baking time. The pumpkin is a little bit overpowered by the sweetness of the pecan layer but for someone like me that enjoys pumpkin pie but prefers pecan pie it was a good balance. Mine really didn't achieve the two layered look but that may have been because of being a little ovebaked. The two flavors were still very distinguishable from one another though. I will try it again for company we are having in a couple days and I think a cutback on the 50 minute baking time will result in a 5 star pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I made this pie on Thanksgiving and my whole family loved it. I am making it again for Christmas. The taste was great. I had no issues with anything. My layering was fine. The only difference for me perhaps was that it took time for me to finish the topping so the second half of the pie may have set a little. I would add a few minutes of time before adding the topping. This may prevent the topping from seeping through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Very good! I'm eating it (still warm) now. Prior to making it, I read the reviews and was a little concerned about the "layering" thing, but it turned out beautifully. Even if it hadn't, so what? I don't figure my particular pie will be featured in a food layout. Next time I'll cut the amount of sugar and/or corn syrup. And if the "pumpkin" flavor seems overwhelming to some, just cut down on the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
It was just alright. It did form 2 separate layers, but the pecan filling kind of seeped into the pumpkin, making it very sweet and lost the smooth texture. Not worth skipping 2 separate pies to make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yasi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
A great change from plain pumpkin pie. Lots of requests for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Doylestown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
I made this pie this past weekend for my boyfriend who loves pecan pie..well I saw this recipe and decided to make it...he loved it! He cannot decide which one he likes better..but he sure was making alot of mmm mmm noises when he was eating it! I loved it also..very good pie..thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARYN821

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Great way to combine 2 pies into one. For those who had trouble with the layers combining, be sure to carefully smooth the top of the pumpkin layer in the bottom of the pie crust and GENTLY spoon the pecan layer onto the top. Also, I find that the pecan layer mixes better with the butter melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2004
Really sweet. This recipe was good, but not mind-blowing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2004
This turned out just like the picture--two layers. I used 2 cups of pecans with a 10 inch pie plate. Even with the additional nuts, the pumpkin overpowered the pecan flavor. If you prefer pumpkin, this is a great pie. For pecan-lovers like myself, stick to the traditional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This is the best pie I've ever had! It's better than pecan, and it's better than just plain pumpkin. It's not so terribly sweet, like pecan pie, it's just right. The only thing I did differently was I didn't use all of the topping, as far as the liquid is concerned. I just left the liquid that wouldn't fit into my pie shell in the mixing bowl. But you can bet every pecan found a place on top of that pumpkin filling!! It's EXCELLENT! I'm making several for Christmas!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Florence, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Fletcher, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States