Lettuce with Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This review is for the dressing only. I was looking for a dressing similar to one my mother made a couple of years ago for us. My mom couldn't find the cookbook so I came here hoping to find something similar. We loved it! It was so easy and delicious. I used it to dress a spinach salad with mushrooms, red bell pepper, feta cheese, and walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring Lake, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I'm always looking for new salad recipe's. This was excellent, everyone loved it. I also served it w/ spinach, but I know it would be good on almost any greens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
My fiance and I don't like creamy dressings, so we gave this a try and both loved it and were surprised that we enjoying eating salad! We've since used the dressing on other salads. Our favorite is a spinach and red leaf lettuce salad with lots of tomatoes and green onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
really not fair for me to rate. I used turkey bacon which does not produce much grease. Don't make my mistake use real bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
Delicious! My mom used to make lettuce with hot bacon dressing all the time, but never added any other veggies. I liked it and I love this with the additions. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
My husband is Polish and we live in Pennsylvania Dutch country, so we are very familiar with Hot Bacon Dressing and it is a must have at Thanksgiving. I have never liked it, so I thought I'd try this recipe because it sounded just slightly different from our traditional recipe. Everyone loved it! It was a big success. It has a very light, slightly sweet flavor to it, considering it's made with bacon grease. I will make this every Thanksgiving. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
Excellent! Did not use radishes. Used spinach instead of lettuce. Used turkey bacon as others suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2006
This was too greasy for my taste. I don't think I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Really good! I worked some years ago in restarants in Wisconsin, and this dressing was always a staple. My husband couldn't say enough and my 3 and 5 year olds even loved it. I served it on fresh spinach leaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
We all loved this over spinach salad but because bacon has enough of it's own sodium, I left out the salt entirely. Not something I would make very often, but once in a while, it's nice to indulge! Delicious and thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

Chicken Salad with Bacon, Lettuce, and Tomato

Kickin' chicken BLT salad, oh my!

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States