Lettuce with Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
WOW. I've been back and forth on this. I thought it looked good when I found the recipe. Then I made it and got a little weirded out before I ate it. 3 bowls later, I suppose it's pretty good. I gave a sample bite to "The Mr." and he liked it too. It didnt taste like the vinegar like I was worried it was gonna. It coats the lettuce nicely and gives it a bacon flavor. I used shredded sharp cheddar cheese, diced the egg up really small and put it over a spring salad mix. Really good, made for a nice lite lunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanJanRice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
I grew up in Pennsylvania Dutch area and this was a regular dish for us when ou Mom made pork chops and boiled potatoes quartered. Today, I still make this when we have pork chops, only do not add radishes. My husband from Pacific Northwest just loves. It's a keeper for us. by a BehlerBusyBee
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvThoseLabs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehighton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Thank you, thank you, thank you! My mother used to fix this all the time. She claimed she got the recipe from her mother. She never wrote it down and I could never remember the measurements. This was a wonderful discovery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is an old fashioned wilted leaf salad. It does taste good, however. It's not a keeper, so add the dressing just before serving. Remember, the purpose of the hot dressing is to wilt the lettuce. Lettuce wedges won't do here. Eat it all or you'll have to throw it out after your meal. It won't keep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
This is like my grandmother's Wilted Lettuce Salad. I loved spring because she used her fresh leaf lettuce/green onions and radishes from her garden to make this salad - brings back good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is a good recipe, but it is too tart compared to restaurant hot bacon dressings as described. After making it several times I have started using 4 tablespoons of sugar instead of 4 teaspoons. This change and allowing it to simmer for at least 10 minutes makes a very good dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TonyW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was excellent. I did however put it over spinach with fresh parm cheese, tomatoes, egg and almonds. Very yummy salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynn2631

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
Very good! I'm just not sure I like any warm stuff on my lettuce, but I will definetely give it another go, because the flavor was new and good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marion, Indiana, USA
Living In: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
followed the recipe exactly. Water did not mix well. The last servings were very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tax pro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summit, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Central City, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
This was very good. Made with red onions and sliced mushrooms. I made it ahead of time then wamed it up before pouring over. It would probably wilted the spinach more if the mushrooms weren't directly on top (my bad). I'm thinking the dressing would have been hotter right after making it also. Great taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States