Lettuce with Hot Bacon Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Absolutely fabulous - but I used cider vinegar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sjclay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vero Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I made enough to serve 16 and only had a few forkfuls of salad leftover at the end. It was a HUGE HIT. Even the picky eaters enjoyed this (I was yelled at for throwing out the leftovers) I did make some changes to this recipe. First I used thick cut bacon. Then it says to reserve bacon grease, I felt that there was too much so I only saved some and added more vinegar than was called for, for flavor. I also added lightly toasted pecans. I used three bags of different mixed lettuces. Amazing!! Next time I will try to add some cheese and croutons. A definite MAKE AGAIN.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Levittown, New York, USA
Living In: East Meadow, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2010
I just had a dressing like this in my favorite local restaurant! They served it over mixed baby greens with warm beets, goat's cheese and walnuts. I pretty much duplicated it at home with the dressing from this recipe. Yummy, yummy! In other words, it is versatile, and goes beyond just the green salad. I'm thinking it would be great over other veggies as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe as posted, but found it awfully sweet. I could not taste the bacon, nor the bacon fat...what a shame. Next time I will use at least half the directed amount of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
great tasting salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
My husband really liked it, me not so much. I thought the dressing was too bland and after it cooled the bacon grease got kind of thick and simply coated the greens. I probably will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Sorry but this was way too salty and I like salt! I even made this with spinach add it was still bad. I would recommend just doing a spinach salad with egg and bacon and then putting a balsamic vineger dressing on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
I really loved this. I made it as directed, except I kept half the bacon out to sprinkle on at the end - AND I overcooked my hardboiled egg so I had to kill it. The caramelized onions and bacon with the vinegar are deeelicious. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
We loved this! My husband had second helpings. I used turkey bacon, so this was a great and healthy recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eli3leg

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is a great salad dressing. When my mom used to make it, she did not cook the onion in the dressing. Instead she cut up fresh spring onions with the lettuce or spinach. GREAT!! Thanks for the memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby24019

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spinach Salad with Hot Bacon Dressing

Watch how to make spinach salad with tangy, hot-bacon dressing.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Bacon and Potato Frittata with Greens

See how to make a simple breakfast frittata with bacon, potatoes, and chard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States