Lettuce and Tarragon Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
This was very good, however, it was way too salty for us. I don't think I'd add any of the salt at first next time, and would just salt to taste afterwards. I did have to substitute a mixture of chopped spring onions and white onions for the leeks, since I didn't have any, and I only had dried tarragon on hand so I used 1 Tbsp plus 1 tsp. The flavor was good other than the salt issue. It's great to have a new use for all of the heads of lettuce we have been getting from our csa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2005
This was delicious. Lovely green color makes for a wonderful presentation & the flavor is superb. Very quick & easy to make too. Fresh tarragon is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Excellent!!! Lots of flavor!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Victoria, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: May 14, 2005
Good flavor blend but the texture and appearance is not very appealing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2003
I really liked this soup. My tarrigon was late season in a dry year, so I cut it back to about half the suggested amount. And I added a dollup of plain yogurt (sour cream would do as well) to the soup after dishing into the bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
OMG, who would have thought *lettuce* soup would taste so darn good! I used a romaine, leeks and tarragon from my garden. The lettuce was a little tough from being left in the ground too long, so I had to find another use for it besides salad. This recipe fit the bill perfectly! I cut the unsalted butter to 2 tbsp., used low sodium chicken broth, and I only added 1 tsp. of salt, which was the perfect amount in my opinion. I also did not blend it, preferring to leave it chunky, and I'm glad I did it that way. No yogurt or sour cream needed! It's fantastic as is. You definitely have to like tarragon, though, which I do. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Very yummy. Worth making again... I added a little crumbled bacon, and it was perfectly delightful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarinagal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
The soup was lovely! A perfect light soup for summer, when your garden is producing so much lettuce that if you see another salad you'll scream:) I used all the lettuces that were getting to large. Meuslun mix, romain and butter/bib. Had no leeks so used a combo of a bit of onion and some scallions. 3 small cloves of comfey garlic, salted butter and organic chicken stock, so added no salt till just before serving. It needed a pinch, along with the pepper. I always use an immersion blender, easier and mess/cleanup. The tarragon was a terrific touch, though I wonder what adding mint one time would be like, having way more mint growing then the tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
just try it. i dont cook a lot but this is very easy and tastes fantastic, and everyone else thinks so too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
This is amazing. Wonderful, interesting flavors, and you can use any green leafy veggie instead of lettuce. Kale or collard greens are great to use for extra nutrition; just increase your cooking time to ten minutes instead of five.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States