Leslie's Strawberry Breakfast Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very tasty and simple, a fun new edition to breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasweetie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
It's been quite a while since I pan-fried a pork chop because we usually grill them. This was a very nice change! We really liked the sauce that came with it, which I made earlier in the day and refrigerated to let the flavors meld--then microwaved it when the meat was ready. Thanks for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I just made these and they were awesome! I didn't have cayenne pepper so I just left that out, and I accidentally cooked the chops in the sauce/mixture instead of saving it until the end. But I think they still came out great. This is such a fun flavor combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I would have given this recipe 5 stars, but my young adult children insisted it should only get 4 because it wasn't spicy enough. They wanted it to seriously burn; I was content with its slow, comfortable warmth. (Next time I will add some cayenne directly to the sauce for them.) No one complained about the overall flavor, though. It's a surprisingly tasty combination! I cooked 6 pork chops so I tripled the sauce recipe. Like some other reviewers, I used raspberry jam instead of strawberry, sauteed the garlic in the skillet (substituting olive oil for the butter), and after browning the chops I poured the sauce into the skillet as a braising liquid and cooked it all for about an hour. (I didn't want to watch it closely while it cooked, so I also added the water with which I rinsed out the sauce pan -- maybe 3/4 of a cup? -- but then thickened the sauce back up with a tablespoon of corn starch at serving time.) Served over brown rice with a tossed salad and fresh melon, this was both a pretty and satisfying meal. This is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Innkeeper Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
While I was cooking these, my husband read over the receipe and announced, 'I hate horseradish. Is there anything else that I can eat?' He finally agreed to at least try them, and he was sold after the very first bite. He even said I have to make this at least once a month. The only thing different that I did was used a strawberry/plum preserve. Thanks Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
First let me preface this with the fact I was super distracted. I was going to make sage pork chops, but I grabbed the curry powder and sprinkled it on the meat. Once I realized, I put sage and sea salt on top of it. I had some black cherry fruit spread and saw this recipe. Since the pork chops were already cooking, I just dumped the fruit spread in the pan with minced garlic. I put in a healthy amount worcestershire sauce on accident. I noticed the label when it back in the fridge! So I poured the soy sauce right in on top of it. With all my distraction, the chops still came out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fitchburg, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe sounds really wacky, but it works well. I made this with raspberry jam instead. Only suggestion I would make would be to lightly fry the garlic first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was an amazing combination! I doubled the sauce as recommended by others & added abit more strawberry preserves. Just before serving I added some cornstarch & water to thicken the sauce then poured over the chops & a savory dill butter rice. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I used strawberry sauce that I had made rather than the preserves, and decided to bake the chops rather than cook in the skillet. I baked them in the sauce....and it was GREAT sauce. Will make again and try cooking them in skillet to see if there is a difference in taste. Went great with some horseradish mashed potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
This was pretty good, a nice change from the normal porkchops. I made for company and used boneless pork loin. Everyone loved it, even my husband who isn't a strawberry or horseradish fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States