Leslie's Strawberry Breakfast Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2001
Maybe I’m biased, once I tasted this dish I fell in love. I was normally a eggs and bacon guy but this changed things for me - I really mean changed things........they always say a way to a mans heart is through his stomach, well Leslie must have known this because I liked it so much I asked her to marry me. We are now happily married, biased I may be but I do know my wife is an excellent cook with a knack of combining multiple flavors to make a mouthwatering dish. Excellent tasty dish to tease every taste bud you might have. I am a lucky man!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2003
OH MY GOODNESS!!! The best pork chops I have EVER EATEN!!! This was soooo yummy. Now I know why the last guy married Leslie!!! I made these for dinner tonight, And it was an outstanding hit!! My husband and 13 month old son both loved it!!! I did the sauteed onions with the pork chops and served over dill rice (rice with butter and a tablespoon of dill) then poured the sauce over the pork chops .. I recommend you doubling the sauce recipe I wish I had!!! We ended up fighting over the last of the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
This is a great twist on pork chops. The mixture of cayenne and strawberry preserves gave these chops excellent flavor. I poured the sauce on the chops after browning, covered the skillet, and reduced the heat to simmer. I turned the chops every 15 minutes or so and let them cook for about an hour. Cooking them this way allowed the flavors to permeate the meat and the chops were so tender we did not need a knife to cut them. This recipe will be one I use often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
I really liked this! I grilled the chops, and I sauteed some diced red onion in butter before I added the rest of the ingredients. It was a cool change of pace--great summer dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
Hmm, this dish is pretty good, but it is missing something. I doubled this recipe and made everything as specified except that I rubbed salt on the pork chops along with the cayenne. The sauce was very tasty, but the pork chops themselves were bland. Even though the sauce is poured on the chops and the sauce is flavorful, it's not the same as having flavors infused in the meat. I think the chops need to be marinated in salt, cayenne, and probably something else. This dish also did not come out as tender and juicy as I like, and I think it's because the pork did not cook in a sauce. So I'll make it again, but I will make some changes next time. Still a good recipe though. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2002
I prepared this recipe initially for dinner and served it over lightly sauted pork chops. The strawberry sauce was exotic and distinctly asian in flavor, and I have since had many repeat requests for this dish. This sauce makes for a great dipping sauce for chicken tenders or anytime you wish to spice things up. With a side dish of rice, you are sure to be thrilled with the overall results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
This recipe sounds really wacky, but it works well. I made this with raspberry jam instead. Only suggestion I would make would be to lightly fry the garlic first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2007
I used strawberry sauce that I had made rather than the preserves, and decided to bake the chops rather than cook in the skillet. I baked them in the sauce....and it was GREAT sauce. Will make again and try cooking them in skillet to see if there is a difference in taste. Went great with some horseradish mashed potatoes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chikee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
I didn't have any strawberry preserves so I used some of my Mom's homemade plum jelly and it was excellent! My boyfriend loved it so much he sopped up every last drop with the Pilsbury Grands biscuits I served with it and he doesn't even LIKE horseradish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This was very tasty. I usually don't enjoy pork chops, but I did with this recipe. I added a sprinkle of cayenne pepper to the sauce, and subtituted low sugar smuckerers and added a pack of splenda. Yummy Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Strawberry Oatmeal Breakfast Smoothie

See how to make a rich and creamy fruit smoothie with no dairy.

Tropical Grilled Pork Chops

Grilled marinated pork chops are topped with a spicy pineapple-mango salsa.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States