Leslie's Salty Grilled Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Nice twist on the average baked potato on the grill! I wimped out on the amount of seasonings, particularly the amount of salt, and for our tastes I'm glad I did. I only used as much of the seasonings as I felt comfortable with, probably half of what was called for. Along with the salt (I used Kosher), garlic powder and pepper I used a Tuscan seasoning blend that I just love, and the flavor came through noticeably but subtley. I pierced the potatoes before wrapping in foil but because of the butter did not pierce the foil - didn't want any of that good, seasoned butter to seep out! Unfortunately, the long cooking time on the grill turned the seasonings very dark, so much of it had to be scraped off. In the future I'll precook the potatoes in the microwave for a minute or two, then finish them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2007
I cut the potatoes up into wedges because I didnt want to wait an hour for them to cook. And I added some parmesan cheese. I love all the flavour in these. I will make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HEIDI4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fillmore, Utah, USA
Photo by Eileen in OK
Reviewed: May 28, 2007
These were yummy. The only thing I'd recommend is poking the potato before wrapping, and then poking the tin foil, we ended up with little bits of tin foil in the potato doing it all at once. Very yummy, tangy skins and perfectly cooked inside. We made it with a one hour drunken chicken recipe and everything came out at the same time. Perfecto!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eileen in OK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henrietta, New York, USA
Living In: Spiro, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I'm giving this five stars even though my husband didn't like the "saltiness". I loved them! I cheated and partially microwaved them to cut down on the cooking time. I didn't use the italian seasoning. I used kosher salt and mixed the spices in a little dish. I rubbed the potatoes with a little olive oil and then sprinkled everything on them. When they were done I put a little sour cream on the side. I'll definitely do these again, but with a little less salt for my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
These are the best baked potatoes. I made these twice this week. Followed the recipe exactly minuse the Italian herbs. Did no cook on grill but in oven at 350 for 45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
Nice twist on an old familiar. I brushed the foil with olive oil instead of butter. The potato skins were soft and had great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robertsville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
These are WONDERFUL!! Even DH was talking about them a couple of days later and says they get "thumbs up" which is high praise from him since he's pretty spoiled by my cooking! I DID lessen the salt (trying to behave!) and didn't try the italian seasoning this time, but the flavor was absolutely excellent... my charcoal grill was jacked up to about 600 degrees with the lid on, so the potatoes took less time to cook, but didn't burn and were tender and flavorful through the entire potato. I was cooking steaks, too, so built the fire on one side of the grill and put the potatoes on the opposite side from the fire. Perfect!! I will make these again and again, maybe trying different seasonings. Thanks for a great recipe, Leslie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
well, like suggested, i baked the potatoes in the microwave to help speed up the cooking time, and i feel it just made the skin too chewy.. but the flavor was wonderful.. (i didnt use exact amounts as listed, but used same seasonings)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2007
We liked these a lot, but I think if we were to make them again, we would not poke holes in the foil. We did this, and the result was massive flare ups on our BBQ (as the butter melted and oozed out). Also, we did not add the Italian seasoning because we were out and we also reduced the amount of salt to about 1/2 tsp per potato. These were good and we will likely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
Make sure your potatoes are completley dry before salting and seasoning them in the foil wrap... My husband and I throughly enjoyed these grilled potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States