Leslie's Salty Grilled Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
These potatoes are fantastic! I did poke the potato before I covered with foil. Definitely a keeper! We make them at least once a week with enough for leftovers. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
I am giving this recipe 5 stars because I used the idea and the measurements, but I made them in a different way. I found it easier to use my hands to rub olive oil all over the potatoes. Then I dipped my hands in the seasoning and rubbed them all over the potatoes too. This gave me a nice even coating of salt, pepper, and garlic all over the skins. I put them on a baking sheet without foil, for a crispier skin, for an hour at 350. They were so good!!! I think next time I might just mix the seasonings right into the oil and use my hands to coat the potatoes to save a step! That way, halfway through baking, I could turn them and use a bbq brush to coat them again...mmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KaylaMayaCamrynMOM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Whoa! These are good but very salty. My husband said they were "wicked!" He loved the saltiness but next time I'll cut down on the salt and pepper in mine. These turned out perfect on the grill. The skins were nicely flavored and crispy. My whole family loved them. We put a little butter and sour cream on them along with Penzey's Fox Point Seasoning. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I'm giving this five stars even though my husband didn't like the "saltiness". I loved them! I cheated and partially microwaved them to cut down on the cooking time. I didn't use the italian seasoning. I used kosher salt and mixed the spices in a little dish. I rubbed the potatoes with a little olive oil and then sprinkled everything on them. When they were done I put a little sour cream on the side. I'll definitely do these again, but with a little less salt for my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Bobo's Mama
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
There is just something about grilling food that brings out its best. I "fanned" these to make them cook a little quicker and they turned out wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobo's Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Utica, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
Nice twist on the average baked potato on the grill! I wimped out on the amount of seasonings, particularly the amount of salt, and for our tastes I'm glad I did. I only used as much of the seasonings as I felt comfortable with, probably half of what was called for. Along with the salt (I used Kosher), garlic powder and pepper I used a Tuscan seasoning blend that I just love, and the flavor came through noticeably but subtley. I pierced the potatoes before wrapping in foil but because of the butter did not pierce the foil - didn't want any of that good, seasoned butter to seep out! Unfortunately, the long cooking time on the grill turned the seasonings very dark, so much of it had to be scraped off. In the future I'll precook the potatoes in the microwave for a minute or two, then finish them on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
These were ok. Honestly not any better than your normal microwave baked potato though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
These were pretty good! I don't really like baked potatoes. I really only like the skin. very flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Jaeger
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This is the first time I ate the skin off a grilled baked potato. It was so yummy! I didn't need to add any extra salt (don't think I added quite as much as the recipe calls for) and almost no more butter. I poked the potatoes before wrapping to avoid the butter running out. Served with the Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter recipe from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Oh my goodness!! I did these with red potatoes and followed the recipe, they were divine!! I now make them whenever we're grilling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grilled Veggie Sandwich and Potato Salad

This grilled sandwich is so hearty, you could almost call it "meaty."

Chef John's Syracuse Salt Potatoes

Very salty boiling water is the key to these flavorful baby potatoes.

Baked Potato

For a perfectly fluffy baked potato, don't skimp on time. It's worth the wait.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States