Leslie's Ham Lentil Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This soup was easy to make and very tasty. The only thing I'll do different the next time is cook the lentils a little longer. It's a great way to use a leftover ham bone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMHungry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
Thank you for this recipe. I didn't have split peas so I made this one with the lentils. I didn't have any green peppers, so I improvised on the flavoring. I added 1 1/2 tsps. of allspice(sounds like a lot but I doubled the recipe) and added some dried thyme. I also cut back on my time by using shredded carrots instead of chopped.It helped to saute the onion and celery in olive oil as one reviewer suggested.This is a great soup to make all year round. VERY TASTY!!! The family loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
I was looking for something I could make with my leftover ham and ham bone from Easter, so I tried this soup. It is simple, but delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly. I had already cut the vast majority of ham from my ham bone, though, so I just cubed what I'd already cut off and added it to the soup at the very end. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison Sharma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emmapeel
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2015
I made this last night, and it was gone in about 45 minutes! Very good, hearty, flavorful soup. I didn't have any bullion or a spare hambone laying around, so, I used canned chicken broth (2 cans, + some water) substituted a bit of prepackaged thick-sliced ham; I also sauteed the veggies and chopped ham in a bit of butter before adding the broth and lentils. The marjoram and bell pepper really give it a good kick. Thanks Leslie! Happy to add this to my collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emmapeel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I stumbled onto this recipe because I had lentils and really wanted to make soup. Accidentally the lentils used had been pie weights previously ,didn't affect the soup at all. It turned out beautifully I did add a clove of garlic, and cook my ham a little longer and I added 2 small sweet potatoes,I have an allergy to celery. This is my new go to soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Theresa1000
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Tried this recipe tonight. Came out great! Used the tricolor lentils for some extra visual appeal. Red lentils faded to brown, black held up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! I did add a few extra things to it that worked out really well...a can of diced fire roasted tomatoes, 1 Tbs of sugar to cut the acidity, a few cups of chopped kale, some fresh diced garlic and lemon pepper for some zing. I Will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2014
This soup is delicious!!! I loved that it was so quick and easy to make. I didn't have any marjoram but it was delicious nonetheless. My husband raved about it! This will definitely become a favorite winter dish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
Great, easy,and quick. Next time I would boil the ham bone a while before adding my lentils so I don't have to spend as much time de-boning. I also sautéed my veggies in a little olive oil before adding. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States