Leona's Lefse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Thank You. I am not Norwegian, nor have I ever made lefse. Following your recipe I made lefse that made my husband "flash-back" to when he was little and was at Grandma Halvorson's. Easy to follow, clear instructions. Thanks again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Tahoe, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
I grew up with lefse (mum's side is from Norway) and we ate it anytime there were enough leftover potatoes to make it. This recipe is almost identical to my mums, except she didn't use sugar. Always seemed to make a huge mess, but they are as fun to eat as they are yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISCOKID

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2002
Since I, myself are Norwegian I loved it!!! My kids ate them all up in less than 5 minutes though so I only got about 5!!! You should try this recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
Tasted great and much quicker than my recipe, but I believe I'll stick with our Family recipe which, while very labor intensive, makes super thin and super delicate lefses...you are supposed to be able to read newspaper headlines through them when done right. BTW, my Grandpa Amundson ate his lefse wrapped around a hunk of lutefisk, and in Norway where they call this style potetkake, they wrap them around hotdogs. We prefer ours with butter and a sprinkling of white sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guttenberg, Iowa, USA
Living In: Independence, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I liked this a lot, but don't know if it is worth the extra effort (compared to regular pancakes/crêpes). I'd make it again for some Scandinavia-themed thing though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MAWARNE
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2006
Well.. this is something new to me and my family. It looks like naan bread ( we eat a lot of these in Malaysia) and the texture was a bit like it but with potato taste. We had it with sardine in tomato sauce. Curry will do fine aswell. Overall, will make it again. (View picture)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAWARNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
This is a great recipe for lefse. I am very Scandinavian, Erickson's and Millers are the family names. Lefse should only be served with either butter, or butter and sugar. Never any odd types of toppings. I love the ease of this recipe. Also they should be light golden brown, very similar in color to a tortilla. Never burnt or dark dark anywhere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D Hamilton

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pelican Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Fort Riley, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I love this easy recipe - and doesn't make a zillion like my Norwegian grandmother's recipe! Your specific instructions are the best I've seen. I'll use this when I don't want to make so many. My family isn't as fond of these as I am!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TxVee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Traditional Slovak Haluski

These tender, tasty potato dumplings star crumbled bacon and cheese.

How to Make Scones

Make classic Scottish scones from scratch. It's simple!

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States