Lentils for Stagflation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
This was awesome! Cooked it almost exactly to the recipe. I used a cup of veggie broth in lieu of water because I had it and I used chicken bullion because I didn't have veggie. My three year old loved this. Very easy, quick and economical! (I'm from South Louisiana, I also added Tony's. We add Tony's to everything)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Quick, easy, different, healthy, hearty, cheap meal. I find I need more liquid than called for, but otherwise perfect. This is a staple recipe now at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
We added a little salt but otherwise made as is. We found it to be very good, healthy and cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
ok base recipe. Cooked rice till almost done, same for lentils, poured lentils over rice, made nest, next time will add a sauce and watch cook time of egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Neah Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
I love lentils, I love brown rice. I adore using curry powders in my cooking. This dish was really bland. I recommend at least triple the amount of curry powder and some tomato sauce/paste and a touch of sugar if you want a delicious curry flavored dish. A little lemon would do wonders as well. Some people like bland, if you're into that though, why even bother with a recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Wayman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
The recipe is filling, but could use some work. It could use some flavor from other Indian spices and defenitely less heat. Too much red pepper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Yum! So delicious and different from the same ol', same ol'. The egg really makes it wonderful and rich. Even my teenage boys who are not known for their sense of culinary adventure at this and loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bettsi
Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
Surprisingly good! I did make a few changes. Sauteed 1/2 cup onion in the oil before adding lentils, added fresh tomatoes (canned would be good too) about 10 min into cooking so they stewed a bit. Will add carrot medallions next time. Also drizzled a little agave nectar over it at the end - needed a little sweet to go with the spicy. Good recipe. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I could see how some people may really like this... but our family just didn't like something about it. Its texture wasnt desireable to me and I didn't care for the dominant taste of the lentils either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I'm an Appalachian fellow raised on Pinto Beans and Cornbread (and a side of onion). I married a Gulf Coast lady who introduced me to Red Beans and Rice. This Lentils and Brown Rice recipe is going to make for a great take-off as I meld the various recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States