Lentils for Stagflation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I found this recipe while looking for meatless dinner ideas. I wasn't sure how my kids and I would like it, but we like all the components, so I gave it a whirl. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth for the rice, because that's what I had on hand. I also used chicken broth for the rice so we wouldn't feel like we wanted to add extra salt later on. I did have to substitute peanut oil because I was out of sesame oil, so I made up for that by adding some toasted sesame seeds as a garnish. Overall, we really enjoyed this dish, although I did let the eggs cook a little too long and the yolks got dry. There was a lot of the rice and lentils left over, so I mixed them together took it to work for lunch the next day and added some yellow mustard to it. It was SO good that way! I'm sure I'll make this again soon. Thanks for a healthy, inexpensive meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by McBacon
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
This is a pretty good meal! My family liked. I'd play with it a bit for a little more flavor, but I also omitted red pepper flakes and used chicken boullion. I'd like to add sauteed onion and garlic to this next time. It's very good as is though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I think this is great. I was looking for a quick curry recipe where I didn't have to make the curry from scratch. It tastes great with chickpeas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I tried this recipe because I'm pregnant and I want to eat more lentils. My expectations were that it would be mediocre, but I ended up loving it! My husband, who thought he would hate it, ended up liking it. Its perfectly spicy, and a really great blend of flavors. I did end up cooking the lentils a little longer to make sure they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Delicious, nutritious, easy, and cheap- can't get better than that. The only change I made was I used vegetable broth for the water and left out the bouillon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Heather
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
I make this quite frequently - once every week or two. I leave out the vegetable bullion and don't feel that the dish suffers at all because of this omission. It's a quick, easy, supper solution that tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I love eggs with rice, and I love lentils! I was looking for a curried lentil recipe and this one looks great. I see tomorrow's breakfast right here on this page! Added cheese will be a must for my family, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shai Hasse

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
I could see how some people may really like this... but our family just didn't like something about it. Its texture wasnt desireable to me and I didn't care for the dominant taste of the lentils either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Some major plusses for this dish include relative ease to prepare, health benefits and low cost. However, I just found it too bland. My husband said it was like eating gruel. That was a bit much, but it needs something more. I'll make a variation again but definitely with onion and garlic and possibly some tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
You are brilliant. High flavor and nutrition for low cost and effort. We all really liked it--kids got less seasoning than parents but could probably meet in the middle next time we make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States