Lentils for Stagflation Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Keri
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
I found this recipe while looking for meatless dinner ideas. I wasn't sure how my kids and I would like it, but we like all the components, so I gave it a whirl. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth for the rice, because that's what I had on hand. I also used chicken broth for the rice so we wouldn't feel like we wanted to add extra salt later on. I did have to substitute peanut oil because I was out of sesame oil, so I made up for that by adding some toasted sesame seeds as a garnish. Overall, we really enjoyed this dish, although I did let the eggs cook a little too long and the yolks got dry. There was a lot of the rice and lentils left over, so I mixed them together took it to work for lunch the next day and added some yellow mustard to it. It was SO good that way! I'm sure I'll make this again soon. Thanks for a healthy, inexpensive meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
I tried this recipe because I'm pregnant and I want to eat more lentils. My expectations were that it would be mediocre, but I ended up loving it! My husband, who thought he would hate it, ended up liking it. Its perfectly spicy, and a really great blend of flavors. I did end up cooking the lentils a little longer to make sure they were soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2010
Delicious, nutritious, easy, and cheap- can't get better than that. The only change I made was I used vegetable broth for the water and left out the bouillon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
Easy and delicious! I never would have thought to add an egg, but this is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
You are brilliant. High flavor and nutrition for low cost and effort. We all really liked it--kids got less seasoning than parents but could probably meet in the middle next time we make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
I love eggs with rice, and I love lentils! I was looking for a curried lentil recipe and this one looks great. I see tomorrow's breakfast right here on this page! Added cheese will be a must for my family, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shai

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
Easy and filling.I added feta. Next time i think i'll try it with goat cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I think this is great. I was looking for a quick curry recipe where I didn't have to make the curry from scratch. It tastes great with chickpeas too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-28 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Vegetarian Kale Soup

Hearty vegetarian soup with kale, potatoes, and beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States