Lentils and Rice with TVP Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Decent flavor. Kind of bland though. Good for a side dish, or maybe with grilled chicken on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe was good but I had to make some changes. I didn't have quite enough brown lentils so I added some red lentils to make up the difference. Next time I think I'll do half and half because the red lentils added a nice texture and the brown lentils were a little overwhelming. I reduced the amount of water used in the second step, instead used enough to follow the package directions for the rice and TVP, and it worked out well. I was paranoid the rice wouldn't cook fully without heat so I simmered everything for 10 minutes and then let it sit covered for another 10 minutes. The rice cooked completely and there was no excess water. I took others' suggestions and added a splash of red wine vinegar at the end. It really did help brighten the flavor. I think I will add more curry powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This recipe is perfect for a chilly fall night. I would advise "eyeballing" the water amount to your liking. I used brown rice and doubled the recipe size. The curry and cumin were a nice touch. We made it just a tad soupy and served buttermilk cornbread on the side. Very healthy alternative recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was excellent. I added a diced potato instead of TVP and it was excellent. The only problem is that the rice did not cook all the way. Next time i make it I plan on partially cooking the rice in the 2.5C of water and then adding it to the pot. i also simmered it covered for 10 minutes and uncovered for 15 minutes instead of letting it sit. Overall a very flavorful dish and i will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Love it! I used 3 14oz cans of vegetable broth to replace all the water, 2 boullion cubes, and no curry (didn't have any). I substituted brown rice for white and let it simmer longer. We ate it on tortillas with cheese & sour cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was great! I switched it up a bit though. I used a potato instead of TVP and I added a clove of garlic to the onion saute. I also followed the advise of the other comment and added a splash of vinegar at the end. She's right there is way too much water so I let it simmer that 20 min. instead of letting it stand. I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Good idea, but there was too much water as the recipe goes. The flavors were awesome. However, the only thing I added was a splash of vinegar to brighten the flavors a little. Otherwise, play with it, but use this as a starting point. Also, you could put more TVP in it, you can barely tell there is any in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States