Lentils and Rice with TVP Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
Decent flavor. Kind of bland though. Good for a side dish, or maybe with grilled chicken on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe was good but I had to make some changes. I didn't have quite enough brown lentils so I added some red lentils to make up the difference. Next time I think I'll do half and half because the red lentils added a nice texture and the brown lentils were a little overwhelming. I reduced the amount of water used in the second step, instead used enough to follow the package directions for the rice and TVP, and it worked out well. I was paranoid the rice wouldn't cook fully without heat so I simmered everything for 10 minutes and then let it sit covered for another 10 minutes. The rice cooked completely and there was no excess water. I took others' suggestions and added a splash of red wine vinegar at the end. It really did help brighten the flavor. I think I will add more curry powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley O.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This recipe is perfect for a chilly fall night. I would advise "eyeballing" the water amount to your liking. I used brown rice and doubled the recipe size. The curry and cumin were a nice touch. We made it just a tad soupy and served buttermilk cornbread on the side. Very healthy alternative recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naya

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
This was excellent. I added a diced potato instead of TVP and it was excellent. The only problem is that the rice did not cook all the way. Next time i make it I plan on partially cooking the rice in the 2.5C of water and then adding it to the pot. i also simmered it covered for 10 minutes and uncovered for 15 minutes instead of letting it sit. Overall a very flavorful dish and i will be making it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Love it! I used 3 14oz cans of vegetable broth to replace all the water, 2 boullion cubes, and no curry (didn't have any). I substituted brown rice for white and let it simmer longer. We ate it on tortillas with cheese & sour cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was great! I switched it up a bit though. I used a potato instead of TVP and I added a clove of garlic to the onion saute. I also followed the advise of the other comment and added a splash of vinegar at the end. She's right there is way too much water so I let it simmer that 20 min. instead of letting it stand. I will definately make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Good idea, but there was too much water as the recipe goes. The flavors were awesome. However, the only thing I added was a splash of vinegar to brighten the flavors a little. Otherwise, play with it, but use this as a starting point. Also, you could put more TVP in it, you can barely tell there is any in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Pineapple Fried Rice

See how to make simple pineapple fried rice using common pantry items!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States