Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
This recipe DID seem too bland for me, so I added two minced garlic cloves and 1 tsp of minced ginger as well as 1 Tablespoon of Curry powder to the fried onions. I also put one chicken bouillon cube in the water with the lentils and rice. Was VERY good like this...and we topped it with sour cream....nummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby M

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I loved this recipe - I am just getting 'into' lentils. I followed the advice of the first reviewer and added garlic, ginger and spices. I also cooked the lentils in a vegetable stock. Very tasty, economical and filling. For low fat version, I dry fried the onions, adding a little vegetable stock to them to make them moist
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
This was difficult to screw up and tastes great! I added 1 tablespoon garlic puree, 2 tablespoons garam masala and fresh ginger. I also threw in a beef bouilloun cube with the rice. This is delicious, very filling and really economical too! Will definitely make again. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
My Arabic teacher once made mujadarrah for his class and ever since then I tried to make it at home, but I never got it quite right until I tried this recipe. The flavour, while simple, is very authentic. It's also probably the easiest dish I've ever made. Don't be afraid of burning the onions - they taste best when properly browned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2002
Very simple yet good. If you like beans and rice you will like these. My husband made them into burritos for himself with sour cream and grated chedder cheese....he loved them. I just had a bowl with a dolup of sour cream and some cheese on top. We will cook this again but add more onions and more spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
THIS RECIPE WAS GREAT! I LOVE LOVED IT, AND SO DID EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
Although a good attempt at using lentil in a quick recipe, I found this to be too bland and dry. No real flavour unless you work on it like others have I guess. Not worth my trouble though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
Am Middle Eastern and we make this dish all the time except that we add cumin to the lentils while they are cooking and a chicken bullion cube ..that really makes the great taste of this dish and diffentely differenciate it from being bland like some have commented.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
315 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2003
This was really excellent -- and cheap, and easy to prepare. But I thought one onion wasn't enough ; I'd add two for that amount of lentils/rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Very simple yet tasty. As others suggested I added some curry to the lentils. I'd cut this one in half next time as I had too many leftovers for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Greendale, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States