Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
A very easy recipe to make for anyone, all ingredients are readily available, and prep/cooking time were all just over an hour to complete. I also took some advice/variations from fellow members and used less olive oil, more onion, 3/4 of a chicken bouillon cube, a few light shakes of cumin along with a pinch of curry powder and paprika. Otherwise followed recipe exactly and wound up with a very unique flavor when topped with greek yogurt and onions, moist evenly cooked texture bursting with flavor that was a really nice surprise. This will be served every 7-10 days in my home from now on, makes a great main course with crusty bread and a salad...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
First of all, most of lentils smushed when I went to stir it when it was finished. But I digress...As is, I thought it was rather bland. SPICE IT UP! I followed another reviewer who mentioned that traditional Mujadarrah has cinnamon in it. Added that, and thought it tasted like pancakes. Then I added cumin as well and BOOM! Delicious. Even better the next day. I would make it again with the changes I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
A very hearty yet healthy dish. I add more spice to kick up the flavor. Def add cinnamon to the onions and cook way longer than the recipe says, about half an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I made this without the rice, and it was simple & delicious, even without yogurt. I think yogurt would be good if you spiced this up - it's pretty much spice-less, which is a little odd, but still surprisingly tasty. A lot of the positive reviews seem to recommend adding some spices, which is not what this recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Made this for the first time, and added 4T. of cilantro base cooking flavoring. I will make this again, but will utilize some of the additions recommended by other reviewers; cinnamon, chicken bouillon and cumin. I did use brown rather than white rice. I followed the directions of adding enough water to cover the lentils and then the rice and lentil mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Comfort food is usually not highly spiced or flavored, and as I didnt' grow up eating this, it did seem a bit bland to me. But I still liked the dish and think it has good potential for me. I used sweet onion, brown basmati rice, and puy lentils as those are my favorites, and I did add a pinch of cayenne for a little heat. I would make again but would add more spices for a little more flavor for my tastes. Still it's simple and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wisweetp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This is a great recipe. I did cut the olive oil down to two tablespoons and used a no stick pan. It cuts down on the fat and calories and it doesn't affect the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I tried your recipe last night and I just have to say BRAVO! The blending of the onions, lentils and rice...oh my gosh! This was sooooooo good! This recipe is a keeper ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CynthiaP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I make something like this but... I put carrots etc in it. I use cumin/curry powder/turmeric/butter/salt as well. I also use Basmati rice. I also make a giant batch as I live in a house of males. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Hubby made this the other day when we had guests for dinner, it was good but I think lacking just a little in flavor. May saute onions in butter next time for some added flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Claridge, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ooltewah, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 502) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States