Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
A little bland as written, but wonderful with salt, a generous amount of sumac, a little cinnamon, a little red pepper and a touch of cumin. Since we nearly always have cooked brown rice in our refrigerator, I sauteed the onions, added cooked lentils, cooked brown rice, a little chicken broth for moisture and seasoned to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This was delicious. I used to live in Egypt and I know what the onions are supposed to be like, as this is how they serve onions with Koushari. I cooked mine carefully for an hour, and I still didn't get it right. Close, but not quite. I will keep trying! For my taste, I added cumin and garlic, and a little garam masala to the rice/lentils. I loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I liked this but I took the advice of someone else and added garam marsala, garlic and ginger. I don't think I spelled that correctly but you get the idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is a staple in our house, I make it at least once a week having grown up with it. We use allspice which gives it a really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
I love lentils soup and am trying to eat better..with that said, i wasnt impressed with this recipe. I did add cumin and cinnamon and that really didnt help with the flavor. The onions were a good addition. It was also dry..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I am definitely adding this one to my recipe box. I like a lot of onions, so I sliced four medium size ones, as they do cook down a lot. Do take your time caramelizing them. Also, I added cumin and vegetable broth to lentil-rice mix. So flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Andrews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This was really lovely! I used brown rice (the only white I had on hand was arborio and that wouldn't do) and since I made this change I cooked it in the pot with the lentils at the same time. Both were perfectly done at the same time. I added about half a veggie boullion cube to the cooking water, as mentioned in some reviews. I didn't realize I was low on dried lentils, so I used only 2/3 cup of lentils and 1 + 1/3 cup of rice, to make up the difference. I agree with other reviews that the onions are the best part, so using more couldn't hurt. ;) I grew up with lots of traditional Ukrainian food and anyone from similar backgrounds knows the unstoppable flavour team of fried onion + sour cream, but I also found this delicious without any yogurt/sour cream. Leftovers were very versatile and I will definitely make this from now on! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tcorandall
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I loved this recipe! It was delicious, my husband enjoyed it too. The only change I made was I added 1 tablespoon of butter to the lentil & rice mixture and sautéed 2 onions instead of one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Put this on regular rotation for feeding approx 20 people after our yoga class. Appealing as it is easy to cook in bulk, tastes yummy and is also healthy for ya! Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
It was good, and its fairly healthy...however this was very bland. Next time I make it, I will try out different seasonings in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 521) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States