Lentils and Rice with Fried Onions (Mujadarrah) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 16, 2015
Oh. My. God. This is truly an amazing dish, both in simplicity and taste. Based on reviewer comments and what I had on hand, here is what i did: Doubled the onions (I used cooking onions), used less olive oil and browned for 45 minutes, adding a dash of cinnamon toward the end. Meanwhile I started the depuy lentils, 1\2 c brown rice, water and chicken broth. Started out with half tsp each of salt and cumin, and ended up adding as much again cumin, maybe more. It was done after 30-40 minutes. I stirred in the onions, cooled it to room temp, and topped it with a dollop of plain yogurt. Think I'm going to explore more Egyptian cuisine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MomCat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by emilieb1
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I really like the taste of this, but my lentils were mush. I'm assuming it's because I used brown rice, not white, and I needed to extend the cooking time for the rice. Next time I may cook them separately, or re-examine the timing. Also, I cooked up some extra onion rings because I kept eating them when the lentils were cooking! I'll just cut up 2 onions from the get-go next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This is really good. I like that the recipe makes a lot of food and that it was relatively easy and required few ingredients. I would agree that the longer you caramelize the onions, the tastier the whole dish will be. Next time, I'll probably use two onions because to me, the onion makes the dish. I put in a dash of cumin while the rice was cooking, but next time I'll add more plus some cinnamon too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glenview, Illinois, USA
Living In: Decorah, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
The recipe as written is good (4 stars). But adding the cumin and vegetable bullion with the rice and cinnamon to the onions takes it to great (5 stars). Make sure you really brown the onions well--its worth it to spend the 45 mins on the onions as they make the dish. Yogurt is also way better than sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
Easy, healthy filling! I used basmati rice and it gave it an extra nice touch. Will be making again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
The extraordinary flavor that comes out of these humble ingredients is amazing! And I think the whole meal is probably less than $1 to make. Alterations - The onions need longer than the 10 minutes to caramelize. I used two onions and started them and let them keep cooking on medium low the whole time the lentils and rice were cooking to get really rich brown. I also added a pinch of cinnamon to the onions and a pinch of cumin to the lentils and rice according to some of the reviews. I replaced half the water with bone broth for flavor and nutrients. This was the perfect simple meal to eat the week of Christmas, before all the rich sweets start coming! Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
I loved this recipe! It was more than I expected from it. I took the advice of one reviewer and added a chicken bouillon cube and a few dashes of cumin. I think what made it for me, though, was the sour cream and onions in it. Frankly, you need more than 1 large onion for all the oil it calls for. So, I recommend cutting out a tblsp or two of oil, or use more onion (I'm opting for the latter). Other than that, it's a great, easy recipe I'll use over and over again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Very tasty. Made this for a week of work lunches since I already had all the ingredients. Very cheap and easy to make meal - but it doesn't looks so appetizing after a few days...just a warning. If you are planning on using it for leftovers, make sure to chop the onions a bit because they get very stringy after sitting in the fridge for a night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joseph Dowdy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
Loved the recipe and the not measuring part!! I added cumin, broth , saffron threads and turmeric for flavor during the cooking process of the rice and lentils-- delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashua, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Delish Will make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chinese Chicken Fried Rice II

A fantastic use for leftover rice, this is one restaurant quality dish!

How to Make Fried Rice

See how to turn leftovers into a fast and delicious meal.

Fried Rice Restaurant Style

This easy fried rice goes with just about any entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States