Lentils And Spinach Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I followed this recipe exactly and it was pretty much tasteless. The only thing I really tasted was the cumin. I wish I had read and taken the suggestions of some of the reviews. If I was to make this again, I would definitely use chicken stock instead of water. I would probably use a bit more garlic and salt. I had to add way too much salt to make this dish edible as it is written. It is a good base recipe but needs much doctoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2011
I am doing a new diet where i could only eat fruits and vegetables for the first 10 days. So my options are limited. However i found this and my bf and I (both Meat Lovers) love this. Thank you bobawood. Oh yeah, instead of the chicken broth i added half a chicken bouillon cube and frozen chopped spinach. I also doubled it to make leftovers for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Very good! I too used 1cup lentils and I'm glad I did. I also added about a tsp each of Tumeric & Garam Masala to give it a bit more indian flavor. I also added 3 chopped tomatoes. This is so yummy & easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
Added a cup of lentils to the original. Also, added dried parsley, and 2 boxes of frozen spinach. Covered over rice and a side of cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Its true, it doesn't look like much, but the flavors all together are amazing. We had it served with baked potatoes and while some people complained it was too dry for that, we thought it was great! Also great with a drop of sour cream or greek yogurt on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
My family enjoyed this dish. I think that next time I will add a little bit of pepper to add spice. But, overall good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
This was very yummy! I used fresh spinach instead of frozen and also left out the salt because we're watching our sodium intake. It wasn't as good the second day, but it was a tasty and healthy quick dinner that I'm sure I will make again. I served it over leftover mashed potatoes because I already had them on hand, but next time, I think I'll try it over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This is pretty tasty and can be made with any greens, I used Swiss chard and it came out good, will be making again thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
I really didn't like this and neither did my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slewis0054

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Delicious! I have probably made this 10 times since first finding it but have forgotten to rate. The only things I changed was instead of using water, I used chicken broth (or chicken buillon) and added a lot more of each spice and garlic. I also doubled the lentils. We eat it with rice and yogurt. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Scallops with Arugula, Lentils, and Butter Beans

Beautifully seared scallops with wilted arugula, butter beans, and lentils.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States